Outdoors

Event Date: 
Saturday, January 18, 2020
Time: 
9:30am - 2:00pm

Slide into the New Year in style and lay down some sweet tricks. The rail park is OPEN at Fernie Alpine Resort and what better way to kick it off than with the January Jam. Cash prizes up for grabs for each category (groms and open categories for both skiing and snowboarding).

Register on the day. Entry Fee is $10 CASH, which will go towards the category winner's cash prize.

Helmets are MANDATORY for all competitors, and all competitors are required to complete event waivers***

The January Jam is in a Jam Format**

Categories:

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Jan 12 2020.
Saturday, January 11, 2020
Sunday, January 12, 2020
Time: 

Elk Valley Snow Shepherds snowmobile clinics offer personalized instruction from a skilled, professional coaching staff with systematic lessons to enhance every level of rider in a supportive, inspiring environment. Our 19/20 winter series will connect sledders with the right level of challenge while providing resources to refine your current skill set and take your riding farther this season. Choose one or progress through the entire three clinic series.

Event Date: 
Sunday, January 12, 2020
Time: 
2:00pm - 4:00pm

While out on snowshoes, learn about winter ecology in the Elk Valley. Discover the secrets of plant and animal survival. All Wild Nature Workshops are delivered by local naturalists with proceeds being returned to environmental education programming.

Cost is $40 (includes lifetime Wildsight membership) and $30 for current Wildsight members. Programs meet at Day Use Area at Mount Fernie Provincial Park. Register online.

Event Date: 
Friday, January 3, 2020
Time: 
6:30pm - 9:30pm

All current and prospective club members are invited to The Fernie Hotel for the EVRFC AGM. Come down to discuss and vote on plans for the upcoming 2020 season for the Men's, Women's and Rookie clubs. Please bring anyone who may be interested in playing this season.

Event Date: 
Sunday, January 12, 2020
Time: 
9:00am - 4:00pm

On Sunday, January 12, 2020, Fernie Alpine Resort will say 'Thank You' to local communities by offering a FREE day of skiing and riding to the residents of the Elk Valley – Fernie, Elko, Elkford, Grasmere, Jaffray and Sparwood as part of the annual Community Appreciation Day.

Please note that Photo ID and proof of local residency (driver's license, pay stub, utility bill, etc.) are required to receive the lift ticket. Tickets are only valid on January 12 and snow checks will not be issued on complimentary tickets.

Event Date: 
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Time: 
7:00pm - 10:00pm

Doors open at 6:30pm. Film begins at 7:00pm.

Tickets can also be purchased at Elk River Guiding Co, The Vogue Theatre, online and if available, at the door on the day of the event.

Event Date: 
Saturday, March 21, 2020
Time: 

Skiers and snowboarders will slide with style in the RCR Rail Park as they compete against their peers for the top spot in their respective categories.  Cash prizes will be awarded to the top competitors in each category.  Open to both skiers and snowboarders.

CASH ENTRY = CASH PRIZES!

Registration cost is $10 cash – Winner takes all the entry fees (in each separate category). More registration details to come. 

Event Date: 
Friday, January 31, 2020

Join The Elk River Alliance for an informative evening to gete up to date on their current projects, and enjoy a screening of the award winning Patagonia film Artifishal. Fernie Brewing Company beverages will be available, and there will be door prizes throughout the night. Everyone is welcome to join.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday until Tue Mar 31 2020.
Sunday, December 8, 2019
Sunday, December 15, 2019
Sunday, December 22, 2019
Sunday, December 29, 2019
Sunday, January 5, 2020
Sunday, January 12, 2020
Sunday, January 19, 2020
Sunday, January 26, 2020
Sunday, February 2, 2020
Sunday, February 9, 2020
Sunday, February 16, 2020
Sunday, February 23, 2020
Sunday, March 1, 2020
Sunday, March 8, 2020
Sunday, March 15, 2020
Sunday, March 22, 2020
Sunday, March 29, 2020
Time: 
11:00am - 2:00pm

Enjoy the tranquility and beauty of Fernie Alpine Resort's Nordic trail system. Fully guided by our professional staff. Package includes guided cross-country ski tour, rentals and hot beverage & pastry!

Cost $40. Please pick up rentals at the FAR Rental Shop in advance. Meet at the Winter Sports School Meeting Place at 11am - ready to go! Pre-book at (250) 423-2406 or snowschool@skifernie.com.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Thursday until Tue Mar 31 2020.
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Thursday, December 26, 2019
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Time: 
5:00pm - 8:00pm

Experience the tranquility (and fun!) of an evening winter bike ride in the snow! Fully guided by Fernie Alpine Resort's professional staff, followed by a delicious burger and beer at the Legends Mountain Eatery (at Fernie Alpine Resort base area). Headlamps are provided!

Cost
Adult - $63.90 + taxes (includes 2 hour guided bike ride, winter fat bike rental & burger/beer & gratuity)
Kids - $46.10 + taxes (includes 2 hour guided bike ride, winter fat bike rental & burger/kids beverage & gratuity)