Arts and Culture

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Monday until Mon Jan 27 2020.
Monday, November 4, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Monday, December 23, 2019
Monday, December 30, 2019
Monday, January 6, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Monday, January 20, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:00pm

All welcome! If you have an interest in theatre, whether it is on stage, backstag, front of house or production, then this is for you! No experience is necessary, just enthusiasm.

This is a chance to meet new people and reconnect with those that have a similar interest to you. There will be a casual theme each week but we want this to come from the participants and what you are looking to explore. All ideas welcome!

Every Monday in the Arts Station Theatre. Drop-in $5 or come with an Arts Station Membership.

Event Date: 
Saturday, December 14, 2019
Time: 
1:00pm - 4:00pm

Make holiday memories and let your Star Shine in this engaging dance class and performance experience. Learn Ballet and Jazz technique and perform original dances on The Arts Station Main Stage to the music of Frozen 2, (In theatres November 22nd), choreographed just for our Frozen Dance Extravaganza. Includes a beautiful tutu, tiara and accessories.

Includes a lovely Frozen Inspired tutu created just for our Frozen Holiday Dance Extravaganza and gala Performance, a beautiful tiara, wand, and special surprise as well as a Cupcake Cast Party to wrap up the event.

Event Date: 
Friday, November 22, 2019
Time: 
1:00pm - 4:00pm

Ages 5-10 (Kindergarten-Grade 4)

Learn Hip Hop and Jazz technique and perform an original dance that you help choreograph!

Perform for your friends and family in a fabulous costume designed just for our Sass and Sparkle Workshop and bring your own sass, style and personality to the stage!

Wrap up the experience with a Cupcake Cast Party for you and your new dance and theatre friends.

What’s included:

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Nov 17 2019.
Saturday, November 16, 2019
Sunday, November 17, 2019
Time: 
10:00am - 12:00pm

November 16th and 17th from 10am-12pm.

$65. Register online.

Get a handle on this one! This two-day workshop is about throwing basic shapes on the potters wheel and exploring various styles of mugs from modern to whimsical. Learn how to pull a traditional handle and make a truly personal mug.

Event Date: 
Sunday, November 10, 2019
Time: 
5:00pm - 8:00pm

Event Date: 
Saturday, December 21, 2019
Time: 
1:00pm - 3:00pm

Join Sue Hanlon for this very special Beginner Paint Date! Parents and Children are welcome for a partner paint date. Each one of the pair gets a canvas but once painted, they can be placed side by side to make a whole painting. Ages 6+, all children must be accompanied by an adult These paint dates are very special and can include grandparents or older siblings.

Event Date: 
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Members... looking for something low key to do on Halloween? Come help us make pots for the upcoming fundraiser! Pop in anytime during members night on Tuesday Nov 5 from 7-9. There will be reclaimed clay available for you to use. This is a great opportunity to experiment but a monitor will also be there to help facilitate if you need some ideas for what to make.

Event Date: 
Friday, November 1, 2019
Time: 
6:30pm - 10:00pm

DER ROSENKAVALIER by Richard Strauss

Starring Kiri Te Kanawa, Anne Howells,
Aage Haugland, Barbara Bonney

Royal Opera Orchestra and Chorus
conducted by Georg Solti

We’ll be travelling back to the Vienna of the 1740s with this legendary performance of Strauss’ restless and opulent score. It’s a classic heartfelt comic tale of young love, mature love, and love pursued for all the wrong reasons.

Event Date: 
Saturday, November 30, 2019
Time: 
2:00pm - 4:00pm

Learn to Sew this Saturday afternoon at the Fernie Arts Station!

Sew 3 gift bags to get ready for the holidays! Get more comfortable with sewing as Jean walks you step-by-step through making 3 gift bags just in time for the holidays.

Ages 18 +. Must bring a sewing machine. $65 per person. Register online.

Event Date: 
Saturday, November 30, 2019
Time: 
9:00pm

The Runs, Fernie's favourite punk band that claimes to be Fernie's #2 Band, is at the Royal and it's gonna get rowdy. Come celebrate the ski hill opening - make sure you don't break your leg skiing, so you can break it at the Runs instead!