Arts and Culture

Event Date: 
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Time: 
7:00pm

“Once upon a summer” is an exploration in childhood adventures and the love for outdoor play. It features paintings, all acrylic on canvas. The show is inspired by Mimi watching her children play in nature. These romps helped her evoke her own childhood memories about imaginary play, challenging your fears and the beauty in little discoveries around us. To Mimi, these paintings are stories of adventure and joy painted on canvas.

Event Date: 
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Time: 
5:30pm - 8:30pm

Ben Sures is a Singer Songwriter based in Edmonton, Canada. He connects with his audiences on many levels. Armed with an acoustic guitar, his songs reach you in a way that make you think, feel, understand the world in a whole new way and laugh at yourself while you are at it.

And don’t forget, the Wednesday Socials are about a lot more than just music. They have a drinks tent serving Fernie Brewing Co., Lonetree cider and wine + a kids corner with free crafts, food trucks and more! A great place to meet your friends, soak up some afternoon sun and listen to awesome live music.

Event Date: 
Friday, June 1, 2018
Time: 
12:00pm

Join the community for the grand unveiling of Fernie's latest piece of public art, a sculpture inspired by the legacy of the 1908 fire. 

The Great Fire of 1908 was a dramatic, defining moment for Fernie that saw the community obliterated by fire in less than 90 minutes on August 1st, 1908. The fire claimed no lives, but the property loss was valued at over $5 million dollars, a staggering amount at the time. READ MORE ABOUT THE GREAT FIRE OF 1908

Event Date: 
Thursday, September 13, 2018
Time: 
7:00pm

In partnership with the Fernie Pride Society and Valley Social, the Fernie Museum will host a night of creativity and carousing as members of Fernie’s LGBTQ community gather to express their queer identity through art. The works created will be shown as part of the Above Ground: Kootenay Queers pop-up exhibit hosted by the Fernie Museum from September 27 to October 14 and later be available to take home.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Jun 10 2018.
Friday, June 8, 2018
Saturday, June 9, 2018
Sunday, June 10, 2018
Time: 

Coal Miner Days is a summer celebration of Sparwood's community spirit, beautiful location, mining legacy, and fun, friendly, family atmosphere. The second weekend of June features a fantastic schedule packed with safe, fun, exciting events for the whole family to enjoy. 

The Coal Miner Days lineup includes: 

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday until Sun Sep 02 2018.
Sunday, July 8, 2018
Sunday, July 15, 2018
Sunday, July 22, 2018
Sunday, July 29, 2018
Sunday, August 5, 2018
Sunday, August 12, 2018
Sunday, August 19, 2018
Sunday, August 26, 2018
Sunday, September 2, 2018
Time: 
10:00am - 2:00pm

From local organic growers selling fresh picked fruit, veggies, herbs and flowers; to herbalists crafting soaps and fragrances; while bakers sell their tasty pies and homemade sourdough bread and local artisans showcase their latest creations.

Event Date: 
Sunday, September 9, 2018
Time: 
10:00am - 2:00pm

Join for this special Pop Up Farmers Market! Fernie Alpine Resort is happy to host the Fernie Mountain Market up at the resort on Sunday, September 9th.

The market will be set up in the main plaza from 10am to 2pm and will include a variety of vendors.

 

Event Date: 
Sunday, June 24, 2018
Time: 
10:00am - 2:00pm

Join for this special Pop Up Farmers Market – the first one of the summer! Fernie Alpine Resort is happy to host the Fernie Mountain Market up at the resort on Sunday, June 24th.

Market will be set up in the main plaza from 10am to 2pm and will include a variety of vendors.
 

 

Event Date: 
Monday, May 14, 2018

Join Sue Hanlon for a social evening of painting. Sue will guide you through a painting step by step for 2 hours. Beginners are most welcome! She will be supplying all of the materials and instruction. She'll be putting the fun back into painting as you concentrate on the process on the way to a finished product!

Ages: 12+/Adult

Event Date: 
Repeats every week 1 times. Also includes Fri Jun 15 2018.
Friday, June 1, 2018
Friday, June 15, 2018

Each No School Friday, Rachel Butterworth and Heather Senior will be offering funky arts based projects, with chilled out vibes! A new project each week, each with valuable creative learning outcomes.