Arts and Culture

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Dec 29 2019.
Friday, December 27, 2019
Saturday, December 28, 2019
Sunday, December 29, 2019
Time: 
9:00am - 4:00pm

Get ready for another round of fun with Rachel and Sadie as they delve into drama, singing, movement and writing.

Have so much fun as you create a unique performance that will leave you feeling like a star!

*Please note that we are unable to offer a sibling discount at this time.

Register via Eventbrite.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Nov 13 2019.
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Time: 
6:00pm - 7:30pm

Sept 25 – Nov 13

This youth program will have guest teachers each week to help teach the kids different art mediums. Wood burning, 3D wall coverings, watercolor painting and more…

Our target age group is 11- 15 “For the creative In-betweens” The focus is to provide a supportive environment for kids to express themselves while learning new art applications.

The guest teachers:

Week 1 Sept 25: Joni Bouchard – Sharpie CD’s mandalas

Week 2 Oct 2: Joni Bouchard – Canvas Words

Week 3 Oct 9: Landscape painting watercolors

Event Date: 
Thursday, November 28, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm

This Thursday enjoy the opening reception of the Art Station's newest exhibit: Mini Art Show, showcasing work by a variety of diverse artists from the Fernie community.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week 1 times. Also includes Fri Dec 06 2019, Wed Dec 18 2019, Fri Jan 10 2020.
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Friday, December 6, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Friday, January 10, 2020
Time: 
4:00pm - 6:00pm

This 4-class workshop is designed to teach up and coming Filmmakers ages 11-15 the basic steps to create a short film. Each student will direct, shoot, and edit a short 1-3 minute film that will be premiered on the big screen at the Little Reel Film Fest in January 2020.

Event Date: 
Monday, November 25, 2019
Time: 
6:30pm - 8:30pm

This pottery workshop gives you a chance to build your own cup and bowl. Do one to get a taster or sign up for all to try out different variations.

These workshops are designed to instruct you in the skills of pottery. The cost of the workshops cover the time and expertise of instructors providing the participant with an experience. Pieces made during the workshop cannot be guaranteed and pottery may not survive the firing process. The complete process also takes time to finish and pottery will not be available for at least 6 weeks after the workshop.

Event Date: 
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Join Sue Hanlon for a social evening of painting. Sue will guide you through a painting step by step for 2 hours. Beginners are most welcome! She will be supplying all of the materials and instruction. We’re putting the fun back into painting as we concentrate on the process on the way to a finished product!

Age: 12+/Adult. $45 per person. Register via Eventbrite.

Event Date: 
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm - 8:00pm

Have you been wanting to try your hand at the potter’s wheel? Are looking to hone your skills? With a max of 5 students, this two day class provides you with ample opportunity to practice your throwing skills. Ideal for beginners or those with some experience, we will go through the basics of throwing basic vessels and trimming pottery while trouble shooting any individual challenges that may arise. Clay purchase is required for non-guild members while members may use their own.

$98 per person for two three hour workshops

October 30th and November 6th

Event Date: 
Friday, November 29, 2019
Time: 
1:30pm

Enjoy tea and chat about this month's book, When Beath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi this afternoon at the Fernie Heritage Library.
 

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Nov 28 2019.
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Thursday, November 28, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm - 8:00pm

Join Adriana for a night of Latin Dance! Move your feet to some fun Latin rhythms!

Every Thursday in November.

$15. Register via Eventbrite.

 

Event Date: 
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Join Jean for an afternoon learning how to sew an apron of your own, then try it on while you enjoy some tasty treats at the end of the workshop!

Know how to sew a straight line. Must bring a sewing machine.

$65 per person. Register via Eventbrite.