Arts and Culture

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday and every Saturday until Sun Sep 01 2019.
Saturday, June 22, 2019
Sunday, June 23, 2019
Saturday, June 29, 2019
Sunday, June 30, 2019
Saturday, July 6, 2019
Sunday, July 7, 2019
Saturday, July 13, 2019
Sunday, July 14, 2019
Saturday, July 20, 2019
Sunday, July 21, 2019
Saturday, July 27, 2019
Sunday, July 28, 2019
Saturday, August 3, 2019
Sunday, August 4, 2019
Saturday, August 10, 2019
Sunday, August 11, 2019
Saturday, August 17, 2019
Sunday, August 18, 2019
Saturday, August 24, 2019
Sunday, August 25, 2019
Saturday, August 31, 2019
Sunday, September 1, 2019
Time: 
3:00pm - 4:30pm

On the surface, Fernie might seem like any mountain town: beautiful vistas, interesting shops, and abundant outdoor activities. But if you dig a little deeper, you will discover a rich and dramatic history.
Discover the story of the three larger-than-life king-pin Rum Runners – Emilio Picariello, Jack Wilson and Mark Rogers – who ruled the illicit liquor trade from Lethbridge to Fernie down as far as Spokane, Washington.

Tour departs at 3pm from the Fernie Museum.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday and every Saturday until Sun Sep 01 2019.
Saturday, June 22, 2019
Sunday, June 23, 2019
Saturday, June 29, 2019
Sunday, June 30, 2019
Saturday, July 6, 2019
Sunday, July 7, 2019
Saturday, July 13, 2019
Sunday, July 14, 2019
Saturday, July 20, 2019
Sunday, July 21, 2019
Saturday, July 27, 2019
Sunday, July 28, 2019
Saturday, August 3, 2019
Sunday, August 4, 2019
Saturday, August 10, 2019
Sunday, August 11, 2019
Saturday, August 17, 2019
Sunday, August 18, 2019
Saturday, August 24, 2019
Sunday, August 25, 2019
Saturday, August 31, 2019
Sunday, September 1, 2019
Time: 
11:00am - 12:30pm

On the surface, Fernie might seem like any mountain town: beautiful vistas, interesting shops, and abundant outdoor activities. Dig a little deeper and you'll find there's more to Fernie than meets the eye.

Event Date: 
Saturday, June 29, 2019
Time: 
12:00pm - 1:00pm

The Elkford Arts Council is proud to share with you our latest project... a new Public Artwork for Elkford!

Join and celebrate the Unveiling of Pass in the Clouds on Saturday June 29th right after the Wildcat Days Parade. T-shirts are $25 (make your cheques out to Elkford Arts Council).

Read our blog to find out more about this project: how it was commissioned, how it was made and by who! http://www.elkfordarts.ca/the-art-blog

 

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Jun 16 2019.
Saturday, June 15, 2019
Sunday, June 16, 2019
Time: 

As some in our cozy little mountain town community may know, we throw an end of the year show at the end of every second term in the studio.

We cordially invite Fernie and surrounding communities to join us at the Community Centre the weekend of June 15th & 16th for a finale presentation, with up to 22 dances being performed by the students of Solebeats Dance Studio!

Event Date: 
Repeats every day 1 times.
Saturday, June 15, 2019
Time: 

Sole Beats is hosting its popular dance recital to celebrate the end of the term, and invite Fernie and surrounding communities to join them at the Community Centre for this finale presentation, with up to 22 dances being performed by the students of Solebeats Dance Studio! The kids have been working hard all year round to showcase their newfound skills and talents: from dance competitions, to daily classes, you are sure to enjoy the show!

Offering a concession, as well as raffle tickets to draw prizes. All ages welcome!

Event Date: 
Friday, June 21, 2019
Time: 

Celebrate National Indigenous Day with the Tobacco Plains 22nd Annual Celebrations.

Event Date: 
Sunday, June 23, 2019
Time: 
10:00am - 2:00pm

A special Pop Up Farmers Market – the first one of the summer! Fernie Alpine Resort is happy to host the Fernie Mountain Market up at the resort on Sunday, June 23rd.

Market will be set up in the main plaza from 10am to 2pm and will include a variety of vendors!

Event Date: 
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Time: 
6:00pm - 7:00pm

The Reel Canadian Film Society was founded in 2018 to continue operating the Reel Canadian Film Festival, held annually in Fernie. Everyone is welcome to attend the first AGM. They currently have one board seat open; if you are interested in joining the board please email reelfilmfestival@gmail.com or submit your name during regular business at the meeting.

Event Date: 
Friday, June 14, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Join Sue Hanlon for a social evening of painting. Sue will guide you through a painting step by step for 2 hours. Beginners are most welcome! She will be supplying all of the materials and instruction. We’re putting the fun back into painting as we concentrate on the process on the way to a finished product!

Age: 12+/Adult. $45 per person - register online.

Event Date: 
Sunday, July 21, 2019
Time: 
1:00pm - 3:00pm

Shibori is an ancient Japanese art form best described as “resist” dyeing. The Japanese developed the techniques for silk fabrics that were often used in kimonos.

Originally, natural dyes, including indigo, were used to colour the fabric. Stitching, folding and clamping were some of the techniques used to create patterns. In Japan, these techniques have been practiced and improved upon for over 1300 years.