Historical Walking Tours

Event Date(s): 
Saturday, July 10, 2021
Sunday, July 11, 2021
Saturday, July 17, 2021
Sunday, July 18, 2021
Saturday, July 24, 2021
Sunday, July 25, 2021
Saturday, July 31, 2021
Sunday, August 1, 2021
Saturday, August 7, 2021
Sunday, August 8, 2021
Saturday, August 14, 2021
Sunday, August 15, 2021
Saturday, August 21, 2021
Sunday, August 22, 2021
Saturday, August 28, 2021

Discover the history and heritage that built the town we know and enjoy today. Guided by knowledgeable local tour guides and explore Historic Downtown Fernie.

EVERY SATURDAY & SUNDAY IN JULY & AUGUST

Cost: $10, includes admission to the Museum. Can be paid on arrival by cash, debit or credit card.

Reservations: Reservations are required due to Covid-19 protocols. Please call the Museum at 250-423-7016 during regular opening hours to book, or email info@ferniemuseum.com at least 24 hours prior to your preferred tour time.

Duration: Approx 1 hour on paved surfaces.

TOURS AVAILABLE:

11AM: THE 1908 GREAT FIRE | On August 1st, 1908, a wildfire swept through Fernie, razing the town in just 90 minutes and causing over $5 million in property damage. The resulting building ordinances created the town that you see today.

1PM: FERNIE AT WAR | Far from the front, Fernie was still devastated by the impact of WWI. Many young men signed up and never returned, while local internment separated families and turned hardworking immigrant miners into convicts.

3PM: RUMRUNNERS! | When prohibition hit Canada, local entrepreneurs did a roaring trade transporting whiskey and other goods between Fernie and the Crowsnest Pass. Events came to a head on September 21, 1922 with a car chase followed by a violent shoot-out which led to a tragic end for Fernie’s bottle king and his young assistant.
Canadian Prohibition was every bit as dramatic and deadly as you've seen in the movies. Don't miss this true story of triumph and tragedy.

Location

Fernie Museum