Workshops

Event Date: 
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Time: 
6:00pm - 7:30pm

Have you always wondered how the glazing process works? Or do you need a little refresher? This introductory class covers the basic techniques you’ll need to dip glaze pottery on your own. No experience required. Highly recommended if you’re interested in joining the Fernie Potter’s Guild.

– $23 per person
– Bring bisque ware to practice on, if possible.
– Min of 2, max of 8

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Thu Mar 28 2019.
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Time: 
9:00am - 4:00pm

In this camp, kids will work with the three primary colors and use wet on wet & wet on dry watercolor techniques. In wet on wet watercolor, because the wet paint is laid on wet paper, the colors flow, blending beautifully into one another in unexpected ways. Instead of mixing colors into jars, the colors will mix directly onto the paper. Kids will be able to explore secondary colors by experiment and create landscapes with one, two and three colors.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Thu Mar 21 2019.
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Time: 
9:00am - 4:00pm

Get ready for another round of fun with Rachel and Sadie as they delve into drama, singing, movement and writing. Have so much fun as you create a unique performance that will leave you feeling like a star! *Please note that we are unable to offer a sibling discount at this time.

Ages 6-11 

Event Date: 
Saturday, April 27, 2019
Time: 
1:00pm - 4:00pm

A hands on step by step instructional workshop that will teach the very basics of sewing with a take home project completed by the participant.

Level - Beginner
Materials - Bring machine if one is available, all other materials provided by instructor
Ages: 8-13

Event Date: 
Saturday, March 9, 2019
Time: 
1:00pm - 4:00pm

Instructor Leah W. Wilson of Amazing Felted Fibre Arts from Kootenay Lake, BC. Offering the insight of 10 years needle felting experiences, and the entertaining ability teach this new, relaxing & exhilarating medium for creativity. All materials & printed instructions provided (includes a starter ball, safety sponge, 2 needles, and enough wool to make another penguin at home).

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Feb 28 2019.
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Time: 
5:30pm

All levels welcome. Make sure you bring your glass or metal water bottle to fully experience these oils!

Thursdays 5:30-6:30pm

Event Date: 
Friday, February 22, 2019
Time: 
4:00pm - 6:00pm

Teens come join Adriana for a workshop in Latin Dance!

Pop and Pizza Provided. For ages 12-18.

Event Date: 
Saturday, February 23, 2019
Time: 
1:00pm - 3:00pm

Alysha Clarke's show in the gallery this month has inspired us to play with alcohol ink! Come to the Arts Station for a chance to meet the artist, see how she works, and play with the medium yourself. 

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Thu Feb 21 2019. Also includes Thu Mar 14 2019, Thu Apr 11 2019, Thu May 09 2019.
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Time: 
6:30pm - 7:45pm

Calling writers, bloggers, songwriters, journalers, editors, poets, playwrights and all creative-writing enthusiasts!
As part of our adult programming, the Fernie Heritage Library is starting a once a month writing group. A monthly theme will given in advance as well as an opportunity to share what you have written. This writers' group is an opportunity to get your creativity flowing, to build your circle of local wordy friends and to enjoy sharing in a community of home-grown talent. Drop-in, all are welcome.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Wed Feb 20 2019. Also includes Wed Feb 06 2019.
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Join Adriana for a night of Latin Dance! Move your feet to some fun Latin rhythms!