Workshops

Event Date: 
Thursday, January 11, 2018
Time: 
6:00pm

Join clinical herbalist, Lauren Street, for an evening of learning and creating.

Materia Medica: learn the actions and uses of a number of plants commonly used in herbal medicine to treat a wide range of health concerns, including colds and flus, insomnia, fatigue, anxiety, depression, indigestion, allergies, and much more!

Blending: take what you learn and put it to use! Formulate and blend three of your own customized herbal teas to take home and enjoy!

Event Date: 
Thursday, November 9, 2017
Time: 
6:30pm - 7:30pm

Register for this free, one-hour beginner workshop to on Thursday November 9th, to learn the basics of the ukulele! 

Ukuleles are available for use during the workshop and can be borrowed afterwards to practice your new skills (with valid library card in good standing and a refundable deposit) . 

Email fhlprogrammer@gmail.com for further information or to register. Limited spots available.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sat Nov 25 2017.
Friday, November 24, 2017
Saturday, November 25, 2017
Time: 

Behind the Lens is a workshop for 10 - 12-year olds to create, film and produce a 60-second micro documentary from start to finish. Putting fresh minds in contact with the latest tools used for producing digital media in the internet age.

Must register to attend. Please call the library 250 423-4458 or email fhlprogrammer@gmail.com to register.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Wed Oct 04 2017. Also includes Wed Oct 11 2017, Wed Oct 18 2017, Mon Oct 23 2017, Wed Nov 01 2017, Mon Nov 06 2017.
Wednesday, October 4, 2017
Wednesday, October 11, 2017
Wednesday, October 18, 2017
Monday, October 23, 2017
Wednesday, November 1, 2017
Monday, November 6, 2017
Time: 
6:30pm

Latin dance classes with experienced teacher and dancer, Adriana Pumphrey. One hour of high energy, beginners class in Rumba – great exercise and even better fun.

No partner necessary! $15 per person. Buy your tickets here.

Workshops run at 6:30 on Mondays or Wednesdays:

Event Date: 
Sunday, August 27, 2017
Time: 
3:30pm - 4:30pm

*This is a free Educational event. Drop in Friendly!*

Back to school is just around the corner and you know what that means. Germs. Sniffles. Early Mornings. Sick days, yuck!

Essential oils can be incredible tools! They are super easy to use and are very cost effective..and best part? They are SAFE for all ages!