Workshops

Event Date: 
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Join Jean for an afternoon learning how to sew an apron of your own, then try it on while you enjoy some tasty treats at the end of the workshop!

Know how to sew a straight line. Must bring a sewing machine.

$65 per person. Register via Eventbrite.

 

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Nov 17 2019.
Saturday, November 16, 2019
Sunday, November 17, 2019
Time: 
10:00am - 12:00pm

November 16th and 17th from 10am-12pm.

$65. Register online.

Get a handle on this one! This two-day workshop is about throwing basic shapes on the potters wheel and exploring various styles of mugs from modern to whimsical. Learn how to pull a traditional handle and make a truly personal mug.

Event Date: 
Saturday, December 21, 2019
Time: 
1:00pm - 3:00pm

Join Sue Hanlon for this very special Beginner Paint Date! Parents and Children are welcome for a partner paint date. Each one of the pair gets a canvas but once painted, they can be placed side by side to make a whole painting. Ages 6+, all children must be accompanied by an adult These paint dates are very special and can include grandparents or older siblings.

Event Date: 
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Time: 
6:30pm - 9:30pm

Whether you're a backcountry beginner of just looking to brush up your knowledge, this workshop is for anyone who wants to learn more about the backcountry and how to travel safely through it.

They will cover topics including:
- What is unique about Fernie’s Backcountry
- Safe Travel basics
- Backcountry gear and how to use it
- Information resources and how to use them
- and more!
PLUS our BCA rep will be there with some sweet backcountry draw prizes and swag, and we'll be offering some one-night-only specials on backcountry gear!

Event Date: 
Saturday, November 30, 2019
Time: 
2:00pm - 4:00pm

Learn to Sew this Saturday afternoon at the Fernie Arts Station!

Sew 3 gift bags to get ready for the holidays! Get more comfortable with sewing as Jean walks you step-by-step through making 3 gift bags just in time for the holidays.

Ages 18 +. Must bring a sewing machine. $65 per person. Register online.

Event Date: 
Wednesday, October 30, 2019

Join Sue Hanlon for a social evening of painting. Sue will guide you through a painting step by step for 2 hours. Beginners are most welcome! She will be supplying all of the materials and instruction. They’re putting the fun back into painting as we concentrate on the process on the way to a finished product!

Age: 12+/Adult
$45 per person. Register online.

Event Date: 
Friday, November 1, 2019
Time: 
9:00am & 6:00pm

All Ages Ceramic Ornament Workshop from 9-11am and 6-8pm.

All ages are welcome to this drop-in style ornament workshop. You can stay for 5 minutes and make a simple piece or stay the entire session and create a masterpiece.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week 1 times. Also includes Fri Nov 08 2019, Fri Nov 22 2019, Fri Dec 06 2019.
Friday, September 20, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Friday, December 6, 2019
Time: 
9:00am - 4:00pm

Each No School Friday, Rachel Behan and Heather Senior offer funky arts based projects, with chilled out vibes! A new project each week, each with valuable creative learning outcomes.

The workshops are suitable for kids aged K-G6
They run every No School Friday
Full and Half day options available: 9am-12pm and/or 1pm-4pm (lunchbreak supervised, bring a packed lunch)
Half day $28, full day $56 per child
All activities take place at the Arts Station
All arts supplies are provided

Event Date: 
Repeats every day 1 times. Also includes Wed Sep 18 2019, Mon Sep 23 2019, Wed Sep 25 2019.
Monday, September 16, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Time: 
6:00pm - 9:00pm

Have you been wanting to try your hand at the potter’s wheel? Are looking to hone your skills? With a max of 5 students, this two day class provides you with ample opportunity to practice your throwing skills. Ideal for beginners or those with some experience, we will go through the basics of throwing basic vessels and trimming pottery while trouble shooting any individual challenges that may arise. Clay purchase is required for non-guild members while members may use their own.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Sep 15 2019.
Saturday, September 14, 2019
Sunday, September 15, 2019
Time: 
10:00am - 12:00pm

Explore handbuilding and ceramic design techniques to make a whimsical pot. For newbies or experienced creatives, this two day workshop will guide you through making then decorating your cactus pot. All materials are provided.

Cost: $55 - Register online.