Workshops

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Jan 10 2021.
Saturday, January 9, 2021
Sunday, January 10, 2021
Time: 

Do you ride occasionally in the backcountry or deep snow but are unable to sidehill confidently and struggle to countersteer? Wonder why you are stuck all the time? Apprehensive to try new things? Perhaps you feel limited due to a ‘weak-side’ or lack ‘flow’ in your riding. Steph and Dave Break It Down with systematic approaches to improve confidence and riding fundamentals through fun drills.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Tue Oct 13 2020. Also includes Thu Oct 22 2020.
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Time: 
9:00am - 11:00am

Come out a try out wheel throwing. No prior knowledge required. Instructor Tathlina Lovlin will go through the process of throwing a cylinder on the wheel. Clay will be provided. (Assuming we have recycled available.) If the participant does make an item, there's a $5 fee to have said item continued through the process including being glazed.

The class will have 1.5 hrs of instruction and have 30 minutes allotted for clean up. Those with prior experience are welcome, but please be aware the class will be geared towards first timers.

Event Date: 
Sunday, November 15, 2020
Time: 
6:00pm - 8:00pm

Join Teena in this wood burning class where you will be able to make a fall or holiday themed sign. This class is appropiate for beginners and intermidates.

All supplies will be included. When buying your ticket please indicate whether you will be making a fall theme or holiday theme sign. Social distancing and studio covid guidelines will be in place for this class. $30 per ticket.

REGISTER online.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Thu Oct 15 2020. Also includes Thu Oct 29 2020, Mon Nov 09 2020.
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Time: 
6:00pm - 8:00pm

Pottery class for those that have a good grasp at centering. The class will be geared towards whatever the participants would like to cover. The class will assume that participants have their own clay or will be purchasing bags of clay.

The class will be two hours on instructor with the participants responsible to clean up on their own.

REGISTER online.

Event Date: 
Saturday, October 17, 2020
Time: 
12:00pm

Macrame is the art of linking knot tying. Join us in making a basic hanging shelf. By Annette Sheppard. Register online.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Tue Oct 06 2020.
Sunday, October 4, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020

Plans for the ISSW 2021 in Fernie Oct. 3-8, 2021 are still underway! In the meantime….

Join for a VIRTUAL livestreamed program with international-calibre speaker sessions, panel discussions and posters.

GLOWS is thrilled to be partnering with Live It to bring you Discovery Foundation Robot Week virtually from June 15-19, 2020.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Feb 02 2020.
Saturday, February 1, 2020
Sunday, February 2, 2020
Time: 
6:00pm - 8:30pm

Get a handle on this one! This two-day workshop is about throwing basic shapes on the potter's wheel and exploring various styles of mugs from modern to whimsical. Learn how to pull a traditional handle and make a truly personal mug. Clay is not provided.

Cost is $65. Tickets available at https://theartsstation.com

Event Date: 
Repeats every day 1 times. Also includes Tue Nov 26 2019, Tue Dec 03 2019, Tue Jan 14 2020.
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Time: 

Improve your employability and broaden your knowledge of our community through the Fernie Ambassador Program. This four-hour orientation session includes a focus on strengthening your Customer Service skills, along with enhancing your knowledge of "All Things Fernie." Upon completion of this course you will also qualify for the Fernie Ambassador Pass, entitling you to additional discounts within the community.

Perfect for front line staff as we head into the busy winter ski season!

Event Date: 
Friday, December 6, 2019
Time: 
1:00pm - 4:00pm

Learn some of the fundamental techniques and basics of beautiful dance forms like contemporary and modern in this fun and engaging class. Learn to tell stories through dance by creating your own choreography and delight friends and family with a special performance on stage. (Ages 9-13)

Includes a unique and personal costume designed just for our Modern and Contemporary Workshop as well as a Lemonade cast party with new dance friends to wrap up the event and a special performance for friends and family on the Arts Station Main stage at the end of the workshop.