Workshops

Event Date: 
Repeats every day 1 times. Also includes Wed Sep 18 2019, Mon Sep 23 2019, Wed Sep 25 2019.
Monday, September 16, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Time: 
6:00pm - 9:00pm

Have you been wanting to try your hand at the potter’s wheel? Are looking to hone your skills? With a max of 5 students, this two day class provides you with ample opportunity to practice your throwing skills. Ideal for beginners or those with some experience, we will go through the basics of throwing basic vessels and trimming pottery while trouble shooting any individual challenges that may arise. Clay purchase is required for non-guild members while members may use their own.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Sep 15 2019.
Saturday, September 14, 2019
Sunday, September 15, 2019
Time: 
10:00am - 12:00pm

Explore handbuilding and ceramic design techniques to make a whimsical pot. For newbies or experienced creatives, this two day workshop will guide you through making then decorating your cactus pot. All materials are provided.

Cost: $55 - Register online.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday until Tue Oct 22 2019.
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Ready to lace up and learn to play roller derby? Their new skater program runs for 8 weeks this fall. For $50 we provide all the gear and instruction. All you need to do is show up!

WHO CAN JOIN?
All skaters must be 18 years or older.
For younger skaters, our junior team will be hosting a learn to skate program in the new year. Stay tuned for more details later this fall.

Event Date: 
Saturday, September 14, 2019
Time: 
9:00am - 4:00pm

Join the Elk River Alliance for a hands-on workshop where you will learn how to better manage stormwater on your property, including rainwater harvest, rain garden construction, and so much more!

The workshop will be hosted on September 14th from 9am to 4pm. Register at College of the Rockies - the workshop is being subsidized and now will be FREE for Elk Valley residents!

Event Date: 
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Time: 
7:15pm

This beginner-oriented workshop will cover the basics of caring for and maintaining your mountain bike. Our expert technicians will cover basics like:
- trailside repairs
- proper cleaning techniques
- suspension set up
- tire pressure
- and more!

Bring your questions, and bring your own bike to work on.

DETAILS
FREE! But you do have to register (link below).

Event Date: 
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Time: 
6:30pm - 8:30pm

This pottery workshop gives you a chance to build your own cup and bowl. Do one to get a taster or sign up for all to try out different variations.

Price: $45 each class includes clay and firing. Register online. For more info call 250-423-4842 or email jackie@theartsstation.com.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Oct 24 2019.
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Join Adriana for a night of Latin Dance! Move your feet to some fun Latin rhythms!

$15. Register online. The first 3 Thursdays in October.

Event Date: 
Monday, August 26, 2019
Time: 
9:00am - 4:00pm

Join Rachel and Heather for a day of funky arts based projects, with chilled out vibes! A new project each week, each with valuable creative learning outcomes.

Event Date: 
Monday, August 19, 2019
Time: 
9:00am - 4:00pm

Join Rachel and Heather for a day of funky arts based projects, with chilled out vibes! A new project each week, each with valuable creative learning outcomes.

Event Date: 
Monday, October 21, 2019
Time: 
6:30pm - 8:30pm

Have you always wondered how the glazing process works? Or do you need a little refresher? This introductory class covers the basic techniques you’ll need to dip glaze pottery on your own. No experience required. Highly recommended if you’re interested in joining the Fernie Potter’s Guild.