winter

Winter is a trillion snowflakes and whispering trees on the crispest, quietest of nights. It’s steamy coffee against white-walled snowbanks, and January embers glowing against the cast iron of a wood stove in a log cabin deep in the woods.

Opportunities abound in Fernie when it comes to getting out and about with your four-legged friends. While the Nordic Centre and Golf Course are STRICTLY for Nordic Skiing ONLY do not despair.

Skiing at home at Fernie Alpine Resort is Dylan's all-time favorite thing to do. Here's to another season of powder-filled fun times with your friends and family. Thanks to Fernie Alpine Resort for always supporting ideas like this one.

Cameras by
Peter Wojnar
Nick Nault
Kalum Ko
Anatole Tuzlak
Nic Genovese

Skiing
Dylan Siggers
Robin Siggers
Kevin Frank
Mikah Neufeld

Winter is here! Fernie-ites and visitors alike are eager to get outside and shred. On top of hitting the slopes, did you know that Fernie also has five unique xc skiing areas with over 50 km of trails to explore? It’s a great activity for the whole family especially as it is so accessible for new moms and soon-to-be moms. 

Three quarters of the terrain at Fernie Alpine Resort sits beneath five looming headwalls in avalanche paths - a constant hazard if not for the daily efforts of a skilled team of technicians who keep the mountain safe.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Mar 12 2020 except Thu Mar 12 2020.
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Thursday, December 26, 2019
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Time: 
5:00pm - 8:00pm

Experience the tranquility (and fun!) of an evening winter bike ride in the snow! Fully guided by Fernie Alpine Resort's professional staff, followed by a delicious burger and beer at the Legends Mountain Eatery (at Fernie Alpine Resort base area). Headlamps are provided!

Cost
Adult - $63.90 + taxes (includes 2 hour guided bike ride, winter fat bike rental & burger/beer & gratuity)
Kids - $46.10 + taxes (includes 2 hour guided bike ride, winter fat bike rental & burger/kids beverage & gratuity)

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday until Sun Mar 15 2020 except Tue Dec 31 2019.
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Time: 
5:00pm - 8:00pm

Enjoy a 2 hour guided snowshoe tour finished off with a pasta and wine experience at Cirque Restaurant in Lizard Creek Lodge. Includes guided tour, snowshoe rental and pasta dinner with wine. Please pick up your snowshoe rentals at the Rental Shop by 4:30pm, and meet your guide at the lobby at Lizard Creek Lodge at 5pm.

You have arrived, and while are stunned by the beauty of the beautiful Elk Valley are completely under-prepared for the conditions. Well, we have experienced it and are here to help! Here are our must-haves during your stay in Fernie and beyond.

Event Date: 
Saturday, November 23, 2019
Time: 

Tentative start date for trail grooming on the Corbin trail system.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day 1 times. Also includes Sat Jan 11 2020, Sat Feb 08 2020, Sun Mar 08 2020.
Friday, December 13, 2019
Saturday, January 11, 2020
Saturday, February 8, 2020
Sunday, March 8, 2020
Time: 
7:00pm

On the night of the full moon join other skiers for a beautiful moonlit ski around the Fernie Nordic Centre next to Lizard Creek. Bring a snack to share and your headlamp and enjoy the fire and food with friends after the ski!