walking tours

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday and every Saturday until Sun Sep 01 2019.
Saturday, June 22, 2019
Sunday, June 23, 2019
Saturday, June 29, 2019
Sunday, June 30, 2019
Saturday, July 6, 2019
Sunday, July 7, 2019
Saturday, July 13, 2019
Sunday, July 14, 2019
Saturday, July 20, 2019
Sunday, July 21, 2019
Saturday, July 27, 2019
Sunday, July 28, 2019
Saturday, August 3, 2019
Sunday, August 4, 2019
Saturday, August 10, 2019
Sunday, August 11, 2019
Saturday, August 17, 2019
Sunday, August 18, 2019
Saturday, August 24, 2019
Sunday, August 25, 2019
Saturday, August 31, 2019
Sunday, September 1, 2019
Time: 
1:00pm - 2:30pm

On the surface, Fernie might seem like any mountain town: beautiful vistas, interesting shops, and abundant outdoor activities. Dig a little deeper and discover the stories of tragedy and triumph.

Fernie entered the First World War in 1914 with optimism and a sense of national pride. Five years later, it emerged having experienced staggering losses and multiple controversies that threatened to tear the community apart. Fernie was profoundly affected by conflicting impulses of labour, loyalty, and ethnicity.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday and every Saturday until Sun Sep 01 2019.
Saturday, June 22, 2019
Sunday, June 23, 2019
Saturday, June 29, 2019
Sunday, June 30, 2019
Saturday, July 6, 2019
Sunday, July 7, 2019
Saturday, July 13, 2019
Sunday, July 14, 2019
Saturday, July 20, 2019
Sunday, July 21, 2019
Saturday, July 27, 2019
Sunday, July 28, 2019
Saturday, August 3, 2019
Sunday, August 4, 2019
Saturday, August 10, 2019
Sunday, August 11, 2019
Saturday, August 17, 2019
Sunday, August 18, 2019
Saturday, August 24, 2019
Sunday, August 25, 2019
Saturday, August 31, 2019
Sunday, September 1, 2019
Time: 
11:00am - 12:30pm

On the surface, Fernie might seem like any mountain town: beautiful vistas, interesting shops, and abundant outdoor activities. Dig a little deeper and you'll find there's more to Fernie than meets the eye.

Event Date: 
Saturday, September 15, 2018
Time: 
11:00am - 12:30pm

Six significant Fernie heritage buildings have recently been successful recipients of Heritage Grants funded by the Columbia Basin Trust and managed by Heritage BC. Join heritage consultant, Elana Zysblat, on a walking tour to learn about their history, evolution, a few fascinating and little known facts, and the plans for their conservation. The buildings on tour are: City Hall (former Crowsnest Pass Coal Co. headquarters), Christ Church, Holy Family Church, Fernie Courthouse, Knox United Church and the Fernie Museum (former Home Bank of Canada).

Event Date: 
Saturday, September 15, 2018
Time: 
1:00pm - 2:30pm

Throughout the early 20th Century the design of neighbourhoods across North America were influenced by plan books published by firms based in cities such as Winnipeg, Seattle and Chicago, while firms such as Eaton’s, Sears, and Aladdin sold plans and delivered the required lumber to your building lot ready for assembly, while others such as the Vancouver-based BC Mills Ltd delivered prefabricated homes.