summer

Event Date(s): 
Saturday, September 11, 2021
Time: 
10:00am - 6:30pm

The Dirt Diggler descends 3,500ft over 6.5km of steeps, loose coal dust chutes, and great air time down to the valley bottom from Morrissey Ridge.

Event Registration

REGISTER ONLINE - Registration closes September 10th at 11.59pm! No Same-Day Registrations. RACERS MUST PRE-RIDE THE TRAIL TO COMPETE.

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every day until Wed Sep 08 2021.
Tuesday, September 7, 2021
Wednesday, September 8, 2021
Time: 
8:00am - 4:00pm

Born from the desire to showcase premiere Western Canadian mountain bike communities, Singletrack 6 features a rider-built and maintained route that changes annually. Stages are a combination of epic marathon cross-country loops with timed descents to best suit each location.

Epic Kootenay Mountain Biking - 6 days of racing hosted by the BC Singletrack Society.

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every day until Sun Jul 18 2021.
Saturday, July 17, 2021
Sunday, July 18, 2021

Fernie Alpine Resort is proud to partner with SE Racing, Cycling Canada, and Cycling BC to host the Fernie Legendary Summer Canada Cup / BC Cup Downhill Race! 

Competitors can expect a newly designed fun, technical racecourse complete with the infamous “steeps”.  This Canada Cup / BC Cup DH race is part of the Dunbar Summer Series.

For full event details and online registration, please click here.

 

We want to help you discover what’s new with the Fernie Trails Alliance (FTA). The big news is that we have a paid Trail Crew and Supervisor for the summer! This was made possible thanks to the Columbia Basin Trust Job Experience Trail Crew Program. Please welcome Haydan Mobbs as Trail Crew Supervisor and our Trail Crew members including Nicole Foster, Luke Macdonald, Jane Johnson and Scott Gerecke.

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week every Wednesday and every Thursday until Thu Aug 26 2021.
Wednesday, July 7, 2021
Thursday, July 8, 2021
Wednesday, July 14, 2021
Thursday, July 15, 2021
Wednesday, July 21, 2021
Thursday, July 22, 2021
Wednesday, July 28, 2021
Thursday, July 29, 2021
Wednesday, August 4, 2021
Thursday, August 5, 2021
Wednesday, August 11, 2021
Thursday, August 12, 2021
Wednesday, August 18, 2021
Thursday, August 19, 2021
Wednesday, August 25, 2021
Thursday, August 26, 2021

Everyone’s favourite weekly bike race series is back for 2021 – The Scott Downhill Race Series presented by Fox & Legends! Come out each week for a fun, gravity-fed downhill race followed by prizing, results, and a beverage at Legends Mountain Eatery.

Kids & Youth (ages 8-17) race Wednesday Afternoons at 4:30 pm.

Adults & Masters (ages 18+) race Thursdays at 6:30 pm.

RACE DATES & REGISTRATION

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every day until Fri Jul 02 2021.
Thursday, July 1, 2021
Friday, July 2, 2021
Time: 
9:00pm - 11:30pm

 

Teck saw a need to bring the community safely together during the pandemic. What better way to bring them together safely than enjoying a drive-in movie!

Teck & Fortis BC have teamed up with Fresh Air Cinema to offer a Drive-In Movie Night for the community on July 1st & 2nd.  The drive-in movie screen will be set up in Parking Lot #1 at Fernie Alpine Resort.

Event Date(s): 
Saturday, June 26, 2021
Time: 
10:30am - 4:30pm

Fernie Alpine Resort opens for daily summer operations on June 26th.  Enjoy lift-accessed mountain biking, hiking & sightseeing, on-mountain dining, kids summer camps, and cross country & uphill biking trails.  

Elk Chair is open daily from 10:30am to 4:30pm. 

Fernie Alpine Resort's summer operations run from June 26th to September 6th

 

Our multi-use trails have already received some love this year with lots more to come! The purchase of two e-bikes and a trailer has allowed our Trail Crew and volunteers to tune up our trails even faster! Supporting local, the e-bikes were purchased from Straight Line, and the trailer from The Guide’s Hut. Our Trails Manager, Ben has already put the e-bike to test taking it up Southern Comfort! Ben and our other volunteers have been busy clearing a lot of the blown down on the trails including Green Alligator, Today’s Special, Snoop Lion and Southern Comfort.

Winters in Fernie can be a blast but they can also be busy, long and draining – especially for business managers and owners. And no winter has been longer or seemingly darker than the one we just collectively endured. With the added strain of a second (then third) wave of the pandemic and the introduction of tougher restrictions that included not having people over to your household and limits to eating out – this past winter was challenging, stressful and lonely for a lot of us.