snowshoeing

Event Date: 
Friday, February 14, 2020
Time: 
7:00pm - 10:00pm

Learn the celestial constellations while snowshoeing under the romantic full "Snow Moon". Chocolate fondue to follow.

Price is $50/person and includes snowshoes and fondue. Register online.

Wild Nature Tours are led by local naturalists with all proceeds being returned to environmental education programming. Please meet at the Day Use Area at Mount Fernie Provincial Park.

Event Date: 
Sunday, January 12, 2020
Time: 
2:00pm - 4:00pm

While out on snowshoes, learn about winter ecology in the Elk Valley. Discover the secrets of plant and animal survival. All Wild Nature Workshops are delivered by local naturalists with proceeds being returned to environmental education programming.

Cost is $40 (includes lifetime Wildsight membership) and $30 for current Wildsight members. Programs meet at Day Use Area at Mount Fernie Provincial Park. Register online.

Known for its deep powder days and great skiing, there's another fun way to explore the snow and all its winter beauty - with snowshoes! The trees covered in snow, glistening as the sun hits their surface with only the sound of your snowshoes crunching above the snow through the seemingly sleeping life of nature surrounding you. Winter brings a beautiful landscape just waiting to be discovered. Try these three snowshoe adventures for something new.

Enjoy your holiday season and head out on this family-friendly snowshoe on one of Fernie’s classic trails, or try the Mountain Shadows Loop in Sparwood.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday until Sun Mar 15 2020 except Tue Dec 31 2019.
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Time: 
5:00pm - 8:00pm

Enjoy a 2 hour guided snowshoe tour finished off with a pasta and wine experience at Cirque Restaurant in Lizard Creek Lodge. Includes guided tour, snowshoe rental and pasta dinner with wine. Please pick up your snowshoe rentals at the Rental Shop by 4:30pm, and meet your guide at the lobby at Lizard Creek Lodge at 5pm.

Explore our incredible winter wonderland with a snowcat ride, lunch and snowshoe. Take a snowcat ride up through old growth forest to our scenic mountain lodge. Have a spectacular lunch in the Tamarack Lodge dining room and go for a snowshoe around the lake. Complete the full lodge experience with an added spa treatment. You deserve it!

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday until Tue Mar 12 2019.
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Tuesday, December 25, 2018
Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Time: 
5:00pm - 7:30pm

Enjoy a 1.5 hour guided snowshoe tour finished off with a pasta and wine experience at Cirque Restaurant in Lizard Creek Lodge. Includes guided tour and pasta dinner with wine pairing. Snowshoes are available to rent. Meet at the Adventure Centre, located in the lobby at Lizard Creek Lodge.

Sometimes, when the snow flies covering the Valley in a blanket of white, fluffy powder, instead of heading to the hill with the masses, a solo walk meandering in the trees is just what you need. Here are three of my three favourite places to “get lost” in winter.

The mountains are covered in white glorious snow, and endless opportunity awaits you. Now your only problem is trying to fit it all in. Well, we’re to help. Here are our choices of routes not to miss this winter season.

With snow completely changing the landscape, these beautiful and adventurous snowshoe spots are destined to provide a little winter magic.