recreational fitness

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week 1 times. Also includes Mon Jan 21 2019, Mon Feb 18 2019, Mon Mar 18 2019.
Monday, December 17, 2018
Monday, January 21, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Time: 
5:30pm

Criterium style ski where competitors complete as many laps of a short course as possible in the 40 minute time limit. For every lap of the course completed, the skier puts his/her name in for draw prizes.

Geared to skiers 12 and under. Meet at the Elk Valley Nordic Centre. Sign up begins at 5:30 and Race begins at 6:00. Headlamps will be needed!

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week 1 times. Also includes Tue Feb 12 2019, Tue Feb 19 2019, Wed Mar 20 2019.
Saturday, December 22, 2018
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm

Adults only. On the night of the full moon. Bring a snack to share & your headlamp then ski under the full moon and enjoy the fire and food with friends! 

If you sit in front of a computer, mountain bike, cross country ski, snowshoe or ride the ski hill chances are your Illiopsoas muscle affects your life. This large muscle group is a definite troublemaker and causes plenty of low back pain in the Elk Valley because it is so commonly neglected. So if you are affected by lower back pain and want to learn more about it read on.

1. Where is this muscle?