Outdoors

Event Date: 
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Time: 
8:45am - 4:00pm

An introduction to Plein Air Painting with artist demos and one on one instruction. You will explore what to look for before beginning a painting, choosing a composition, laying out the composition, blocking it in and recording the most important details of the scene. Plein Air painting is about expressing your impression in a simplified manner in a short amount of time. (because the lighting is constantly changing). It is about engaging with your subject on a more intimate level by learning from painting from real life and immersing yourself in the landscape.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Thu Jul 23 2020. Also includes Mon Jul 27 2020, Tue Jul 28 2020, Wed Jul 29 2020, Thu Jul 30 2020.
Monday, July 20, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Time: 
10:30am - 4:30pm

Thanks to our local community!

Fernie Alpine Resort's 2020 Summer Community Appreciation Program will include special offers to locals from July 20-23 and July 27-30.

Special Offers To Locals Include:
- Complimentary Single Ride Lift Ticket (Elk Chairlift)
- 25% off Bike Rentals (subject to availability - onsite only, no advance booking)
- 50% Full Day or Twilight or 3 Lap Lift Ticket (Elk Chairlift)
- 20% off One (1) Main Dish at Legends Mountain Eatery (valid until Sept. 7/20)

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Thu Jul 23 2020.
Friday, July 10, 2020
Saturday, July 11, 2020
Sunday, July 12, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Saturday, July 18, 2020
Sunday, July 19, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Time: 

Looking for a mountain bike challenge this summer? Look no further...the Fernie Enduro is going V-I-R-T-U-A-L for 2020. Get yourself to the top of the trail and race to the bottom!

The event will include three Strava timed races over a six-week period on enduro style Fernie trails. Each race will be live for two weeks and yes, you can better your own time!

Race #1 starts on July 10th and will be open for two weeks. The Strava route will be released the day prior to each two-week race.

Summer is officially here, the trails are clear of snow and more terrain and access to outdoor spaces is now available to us! This month, we challenge you to find the Goat donation bin located at the beginning of Old Goat, one of Fernie’s oldest and most cherished mountain bike trails. Find the box this July and remember to head to Edge of the World to get your sticker!

None of us want our dogs to be uncomfortable after all and yet they can’t tell us so we just go on without knowing. Veterinarians are starting to suggest that neck injuries could be contributing to certain symptoms and even misinterpretation. 

The Fernie Trails Alliance (FTA) has been focusing on a number of key initiatives including Trail Work Procedures, COVID Procedures and communications.

Summer in Fernie and mountain biking go hand in hand. As the snow melts, bikes of all shapes and sizes appear in droves on the streets and trails. The mountain biking here is plentiful and diverse, from family friendly flowy trails to technical cross country, downhill, and big-air flow trails.

Event Date: 
Friday, June 26, 2020
Time: 
8:00am

Island Lake Lodge is officially open for the summer season!

Dining - Summer will start with both the Bear Lodge Bistro and Tamarack Dining Room opening for our fantastic food and beverage service.  Operations will differ from the past, but we are excited to be able to offer the Island Lake experience to our guests. Hours of operation will be: The Bear Bistro:  11am- 8pm

The Tamarack Dining Room: 5pm - 9pm

Reservations are recommended for the Tamarack Dining Room. Check our website for menus.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Aug 27 2020.
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Time: 
1:00pm

Art History with Jackie has moved to Thursdays! Videos will launch on Thursday afternoons, and you are invited to come to the Arts Station for Art on Deck to practice in the style of each week's featured artist!

July 2nd - Keith Haring
July 9th - Lawren Harris
July 16th - Edward Hopper
July 23rd - Salvador Dali
July 30th - Claude Monet

August 6th: Pottery with Kerri Holmes
August 13th: Oil Painting with Tara Higgins
August 20th: Watercolour Painting with Sherry Chanin
August 27th: Printmaking with Michael Hephe

Event Date: 
Repeats every week until Thu Sep 03 2020.
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Time: 
6:30pm

They are back for another year of Thursday Night Races at Fernie Alpine Resort!

Come out every Thursday for an evening of fun, gravity-fed mountain biking, great post-race draw prizes from SCOTT and Fox, and post-race refreshments at Legends Mountain Eatery!

They have made some essential changes to this year’s events to ensure they are providing a safe environment for everyone involved. Please read the following details carefully and check out the event webpage for more information on their COVID-19 safety plan.