Outdoors

Event Date: 
Repeats every day 1 times. Also includes Tue Aug 13 2019.
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Time: 
6:00pm - 8:30pm

Wildsight members $20 / Nonmembers $30 (cost includes lifetime Wildsight membership)

Take a hike in the Mt. Fernie Provincial Park and use your senses to forage in the forest for food, medicinal plants, and inspiration for technology. This tour is either led by naturalist Lee-Anne Walker or Mary Cosman. Please meet at the Wildsight Elk Valley office at 891 2nd Avenue. Arrive 15 minutes early please and wear appropriate footwear and clothing. We recommend that you bring water, a snack, and a camera and writing pad.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Aug 29 2019.
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Thursday, July 4, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Come out every Thursday for an evening of fun, gravity-fed mountain biking, great post-race draw prizes from SCOTT and Fox, and post-race refreshments at Legends Mountain Eatery!

Register by 6:30pm on race day at the Adventure Cabin in the plaza at the base of the resort. The race starts at 7pm SHARP at the start of the race route. Race route information will be confirmed at the Adventure Centre on race day and on the Fernie Alpine Resort facebook page.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day 1 times. Also includes Thu Jul 18 2019, Thu Aug 01 2019, Thu Aug 15 2019, Thu Aug 29 2019.
Thursday, July 4, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Time: 
6:30pm - 8:30pm

Join Fernie Alpine Resort for this bi-weekly trail run race series. 

Runners test your skills on the trails up at Fernie Alpine Resort for this fun trail race series.  Each race will be run on a different designated route and is open to all levels of trail runners.  All racers get to enjoy a post-race beverage and are eligible for prizing from The North Face!

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Jun 16 2019.
Friday, June 14, 2019
Saturday, June 15, 2019
Sunday, June 16, 2019

Hosted by Magi Scallion, an avid trail runner with a special fondness for flowy trails, Magi has represented Canada internationally in trail running as well as cross country skiing and now sharing her passion for trail running through retreats, clinics, and camps.

This clinic will cover uphill and downhill running technique, program design, and general running form.

All Included:

Event Date: 
Sunday, June 9, 2019
Time: 
1:00pm

Free golfing and activities for residents of the Elk Valley & area. 

  • Play 5 holes, 9 holes or all 18 holes for free
  •  Free use of the driving range
  • Games and contests on the driving range for adults and kids
  • Kids games on the practice putting green
  • Reduced rates on equipment rental
  • Cart tours of the golf course by maintenance staff

 

Every year, I come up with different trails and loops to recommend to locals and visitors. You would think coming up with something new might be difficult, but it’s actually quite the opposite! We are so blessed in this Valley. 

Fernie really does have it all when it comes to summer adventures with your kids. Here are three (or four) of my personal favourites that are a little off the beaten track.

Event Date: 
Friday, May 17, 2019
Time: 
5:30pm - 6:30pm

Join their mechanics for an afternoon crash course on basic bike maintenance. Bring your bikes, your friends and your questions. Refreshments provided.

Event Date: 
Saturday, May 18, 2019
Time: 
10:00am - 4:00pm

Come and demo this years Kona mountain bikes and find your new summer ride! Out front of the store from 10am-4pm. Bring your helmet and ID to ride.

The Columbia Basin’s many remote recreation sites and trails are beautiful and worthy destinations. This summer up to 15 students will be hired to help improve various backcountry sites over the summer, supported by $1.5 million over three to five years from the Trust.