Outdoors

Event Date: 
Tuesday, January 26, 2021
Time: 
9:00am - 4:00pm

Join us in celebrating with our friends down under for Australia Day at Fernie Alpine Resort. Although we can’t have a party this year, we can still dress up and celebrate in our own bubbles.

PHOTO COMPETITION
This year we are having an Australia Day photo competition! Take a photo of what best represents Australia Day at Fernie Alpine Resort to you and submit it online using our online entry form.

There are some great prizes up for grabs thanks to our partners. You could even win yourself a Helly Hansen Bucket Hat, an Aussie favourite!

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Feb 14 2021.
Saturday, February 13, 2021
Sunday, February 14, 2021

This free activity takes place all over the resort and is fun for the whole family. The following clues will lead you to areas on-mountain and around the base area. Find as many clues as you can and take photo evidence of you & your family. We have great prizes up for grabs!

There are so many extremely amazing trails in Fernie so picking a few favourites is difficult, but here are my top three winter trails and activities!

Elk Valley Nordic Centre –  Runt/Grunt – Nordic Skiing
Time: Approx. 1 hr (depending on the number of loops) 
Distance: Approx.  7 - 10km 
Level: Blue 

The Elk Valley Nordic Centre is a real winter paradise. Tucked away in the Mount Fernie Provincial Park, the views are breathtaking. The Fernie Nordic Society has hired a paid groomer this year so the conditions have been prime time!

Event Date: 
Friday, January 1, 2021

Now in its 3rd year, the #FernieStreak is back. And this year more than ever, this fun, supportive nudge to get outside and get active, is just what is needed.

To cater to the slight change in the norm, the #FernieStreak is taking a slight change in direction. Online registration and daily tracking – with the ability to sign up the entire family, including kids dogs too; the addition of downhill skiing; the push for safe COVID-safe adventuring; and the goal to raise money for a very worthwhile cause.

I slam my beat-up ski boot into the icy rime of the windswept ridge. The pounding of my heart thumping with the crunch of snow. I’m thankful for the warm, calm March weather, a stark juxtaposition to the cold, hard knot that has a stranglehold on my guts. I need to find confidence in the next step. In every step. For her sake too. We’re in it together, but as always, I feel responsible.

Nestled between rugged peaks and along cool waters, Fernie has long been considered among the world’s premier winter holiday destinations. With snowfalls of 30 feet or more, Fernie residents and visitors alike embrace the season by making the most of our vast outdoor playground. We are especially lucky to be able to enjoy our open spaces during these pandemic times and remain active year-round. Whether you’re looking for a low-key stroll or a heart pumping ride, we’ve got an outdoor space for everyone!

It’s the holiday season and you may be looking for the gift that keeps giving. We have just what you need! The Fernie Trails Pass keeps giving as you enjoy the trails all season long (note the pass runs a calendar year, from Jan 1 – Dec 31). This is the perfect gift for the active person on your list. 

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Mar 25 2021 except Fri Dec 25 2020.
Thursday, December 17, 2020
Thursday, December 24, 2020
Thursday, December 31, 2020
Thursday, January 7, 2021
Thursday, January 14, 2021
Thursday, January 21, 2021
Thursday, January 28, 2021
Thursday, February 4, 2021
Thursday, February 11, 2021
Thursday, February 18, 2021
Thursday, February 25, 2021
Thursday, March 4, 2021
Thursday, March 11, 2021
Thursday, March 18, 2021
Thursday, March 25, 2021
Time: 
5:00pm - 7:00pm

Experience the tranquility (and fun!) of an evening winter bike ride in the snow! Fully guided by the professional staff (@ Fernie Alpine Resort base area). Headlamps are provided!

Cost
Adult - $44.00 + taxes (includes 2 hour guided bike ride and winter fat bike rental)
Kids - $39.00 + taxes (includes 2 hour guided bike ride and winter fat bike rental)

Pick up your rental bike at the FAR Rental Shop by 4:30pm.
Tour departs from the FAR rental shop at 5pm!

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday until Sun Mar 28 2021.
Sunday, December 20, 2020
Sunday, December 27, 2020
Sunday, January 3, 2021
Sunday, January 10, 2021
Sunday, January 17, 2021
Sunday, January 24, 2021
Sunday, January 31, 2021
Sunday, February 7, 2021
Sunday, February 14, 2021
Sunday, February 21, 2021
Sunday, February 28, 2021
Sunday, March 7, 2021
Sunday, March 14, 2021
Sunday, March 21, 2021
Sunday, March 28, 2021
Time: 
11:00am - 1:00pm

Enjoy the tranquility and beauty of their Nordic trail system. Fully guided by Fernie Alpine Resort's professional staff. Package includes guided cross-country ski tour and rentals.

Cost
$39.00 + taxes

Please pick up rentals at the FAR Rental Shop in advance.
Meet at the Winter Sports School Meeting Place at 11am - ready to go!

Pre-book at (250) 423-2406 or snowschool@skifernie.com

 

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday until Tue Mar 30 2021.
Tuesday, December 22, 2020
Tuesday, December 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 5, 2021
Tuesday, January 12, 2021
Tuesday, January 19, 2021
Tuesday, January 26, 2021
Tuesday, February 2, 2021
Tuesday, February 9, 2021
Tuesday, February 16, 2021
Tuesday, February 23, 2021
Tuesday, March 2, 2021
Tuesday, March 9, 2021
Tuesday, March 16, 2021
Tuesday, March 23, 2021
Tuesday, March 30, 2021
Time: 
5:00pm - 7:00pm

Enjoy a 2 hour guided snowshoe tour through Fernie Alpine Resort's beautiful tranquil forests.

Includes guided tour and snowshoe rental. Please pick up your snowshoe rentals at the Rental Shop by 4:30 pm, and meet your guide at the lobby at Lizard Creek Lodge at 5pm.

Cost
Adult: $34.00 + tax per person (includes guided snowshoe tour and snowshoe rental)
Child: $28.50 + tax per person (includes guided snowshoe tour and snowshoe rental)