Mountain Biking

A variety of local trail notices and updates have caused the need to clarify the current situation for this summer season. Trails in Fernie are extensive, cherished and a critical part of what Fernie is well known for. Though 2019 will experience a few interruptions most trails are accessible to mountain bike, walk and hike! Continue below for current details and updates.

Com·mu·ni·ty - A feeling of fellowship with others, as a result of sharing common attitudes, interests, and goals.


Event Date(s): 
Repeats every day 1 times. Also includes Sat Jul 13 2019.
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Saturday, July 13, 2019

Experience the huge variety of trails around South-eastern BC, including big mountain, forest floor, gnarly rootsy up-and-down and everything in between. Challenge yourself alongside like-minded enduro race fans with unlimited high fives and beers at the end of the day. 

This is no alps, no Trans Provence, no super high elevation riding - but on the side of pure traditional famous BC singletrack of loam, forest, roots, and alpine, and everything in between. BC has its own truly unique style and this race will showcase a little bit of everything.   

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week 1 times. Also includes Sat Oct 05 2019.
Saturday, June 8, 2019
Saturday, October 5, 2019

Established in 2004, Take A Kid Mountain Biking Day challenges adults and biking clubs to introduce kids to the sport of cycling. The event celebrates the life of Jack Doub, an avid teenage mountain biker from North Carolina who passed away in 2002.

Developed and coordinated by the International Mountain Bicycling Association, the event officially takes place every June and October!

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week every Tuesday until Tue Aug 13 2019.
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm

A fun weekly race/ride series for all mountain bikers.

Mark your calendars and start NOT training (just kidding). Go hard and compete for the bragging rights or just come and enjoy the fun with like minded bikers. These are typically more enduro style and the emphasis is on having fun. Prizes and titles up for grabs!

Have you been riding Swine Flu? Have you been troubled by mud just past the cattleguard and to the right? 

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Aug 29 2019.
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Thursday, July 4, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Come out every Thursday for an evening of fun, gravity-fed mountain biking, great post-race draw prizes from SCOTT and Fox, and post-race refreshments at Legends Mountain Eatery!

Register by 6:30pm on race day at the Adventure Cabin in the plaza at the base of the resort. The race starts at 7pm SHARP at the start of the race route. Race route information will be confirmed at the Adventure Centre on race day and on the Fernie Alpine Resort facebook page.

Every year, I come up with different trails and loops to recommend to locals and visitors. You would think coming up with something new might be difficult, but it’s actually quite the opposite! We are so blessed in this Valley. 

We are so lucky to have such a strong community of volunteers, contractors, local businesses, and funders who support our trail network. The Fernie Trails Alliance is centred on volunteerism.