Mountain Biking

Studies show that spending time in nature can improve our mental health and sharpen our cognition. It came to no surprise then that when a local avid biker decided to bike from sunrise to sunset for Summer Solstice in 2020, as the pandemic was in its infancy and we were faced with so many unknowns, he approached the Elk Valley Suicide Task force to partner and raise much needed funds and awareness through what would be called the Solstice Ride for Mental Health. 

Event Date(s): 
Saturday, May 28, 2022
Time: 

A Saturday with women that you won't want to miss!

Mountain biking is fun and who doesn’t want to feel more comfortable on their bikes, feel more in control, and share in the thrill of progression with other women? Plus, you may just meet some new, totally rad mountain biking friends!

This session is set up for individuals who are getting familiar with mountain biking but need to unlock the secrets to making things really click, improve their skills, and be more confident and in control on green and blue trails.

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every day 1 times. Also includes Sat Jun 11 2022.
Saturday, May 14, 2022
Saturday, June 11, 2022

A Saturday with women that you won't want to miss!

Mountain biking is fun and who doesn’t want to feel more comfortable on their bikes, feel more in control, and share in the thrill of progression with other women? Plus, you may just meet some new, totally rad mountain biking friends!

This session is set up for individuals who are getting familiar with mountain biking but need to unlock the secrets to making things really click, improve their skills, and be more confident and in control on green and blue trails.

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every day until Sun Sep 19 2021.
Friday, September 17, 2021
Saturday, September 18, 2021
Sunday, September 19, 2021
Time: 

Showcasing the greatest gravel in British Columbia!

The Fernie Gravel Grind (FGG) is a weekend-long gravel experience located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies; home to some of the best gravel riding that Canada has to offer. taking place September 17th-19th, 2021. 

Event Date(s): 
Saturday, September 11, 2021
Time: 
10:00am - 6:30pm

The Dirt Diggler descends 3,500ft over 6.5km of steeps, loose coal dust chutes, and down to the valley bottom from Morrissey Ridge.

Event Registration

REGISTER ONLINE - Registration closes September 10th at 11.59pm! No Same-Day Registrations. RACERS MUST PRE-RIDE THE TRAIL TO COMPETE.

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every day until Sun Jul 18 2021.
Saturday, July 17, 2021
Sunday, July 18, 2021

Fernie Alpine Resort is proud to partner with SE Racing, Cycling Canada, and Cycling BC to host the Fernie Legendary Summer Canada Cup / BC Cup Downhill Race! 

Competitors can expect a newly designed fun, technical racecourse complete with the infamous “steeps”.  This Canada Cup / BC Cup DH race is part of the Dunbar Summer Series.

For full event details and online registration, please click here.

 

We want to help you discover what’s new with the Fernie Trails Alliance (FTA). The big news is that we have a paid Trail Crew and Supervisor for the summer! This was made possible thanks to the Columbia Basin Trust Job Experience Trail Crew Program. Please welcome Haydan Mobbs as Trail Crew Supervisor and our Trail Crew members including Nicole Foster, Luke Macdonald, Jane Johnson and Scott Gerecke.

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week every Wednesday and every Thursday until Thu Aug 26 2021.
Wednesday, July 7, 2021
Thursday, July 8, 2021
Wednesday, July 14, 2021
Thursday, July 15, 2021
Wednesday, July 21, 2021
Thursday, July 22, 2021
Wednesday, July 28, 2021
Thursday, July 29, 2021
Wednesday, August 4, 2021
Thursday, August 5, 2021
Wednesday, August 11, 2021
Thursday, August 12, 2021
Wednesday, August 18, 2021
Thursday, August 19, 2021
Wednesday, August 25, 2021
Thursday, August 26, 2021

Everyone’s favourite weekly bike race series is back for 2021 – The Scott Downhill Race Series presented by Fox & Legends! Come out each week for a fun, gravity-fed downhill race followed by prizing, results, and a beverage at Legends Mountain Eatery.

Kids & Youth (ages 8-17) race Wednesday Afternoons at 4:30 pm.

Adults & Masters (ages 18+) race Thursdays at 6:30 pm.

RACE DATES & REGISTRATION

Event Date(s): 
Saturday, June 26, 2021
Time: 
10:30am - 4:30pm

Fernie Alpine Resort opens for daily summer operations on June 26th.  Enjoy lift-accessed mountain biking, hiking & sightseeing, on-mountain dining, kids summer camps, and cross country & uphill biking trails.  

Elk Chair is open daily from 10:30am to 4:30pm. 

Fernie Alpine Resort's summer operations run from June 26th to September 6th

 

Our multi-use trails have already received some love this year with lots more to come! The purchase of two e-bikes and a trailer has allowed our Trail Crew and volunteers to tune up our trails even faster! Supporting local, the e-bikes were purchased from Straight Line, and the trailer from The Guide’s Hut. Our Trails Manager, Ben has already put the e-bike to test taking it up Southern Comfort! Ben and our other volunteers have been busy clearing a lot of the blown down on the trails including Green Alligator, Today’s Special, Snoop Lion and Southern Comfort.