Island Lake Lodge

he Lizard Range’s wild and rugged peaks seem to have a knack for capturing moist weather patterns holding them hostage while snow falls hard and heavy for days. This makes Fernie the ideal winter playground for countless outdoor pursuits. 

Sometimes, when the snow flies covering the Valley in a blanket of white, fluffy powder, instead of heading to the hill with the masses, a solo walk meandering in the trees is just what you need. Here are three of my three favourite places to “get lost” in winter.

Mt. Proctor - Fairy Creek Falls
Difficulty: Green
Distance: 5km lout and back
Time: 1.5-2 hrs

Photo of Frank Lento surrounded by his family at the Kootenay Game Changers Gala, submitted by Mark Lento

The leaves are starting to turn and fall is definitely in the air. Island Lake Lodge's local farm partners are harvesting and their favourite beer company is putting out some seasonal favourites.

Fernie is a beautiful place to live. Many places have a great view, but perhaps nowhere are the surroundings more magical than around Island Lake Lodge.

The Spineback Trail is one of the signature hikes at Island Lake Lodge. Paralleling the beautiful Spineback Ridge, the trail winds up through sub-alpine meadows, reaching the crest of the ridge and its bench. Continue to the second bench nestled between the 3 Bears’ peaks.

Are your curious about hiking and where to take in the some of the best views in Fernie? A great option is Fernie’s newest trail found at Island Lake Lodge.

Here's a little something to get you stoked on the summer season.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week 1 times. Also includes Sun Jul 15 2018, Sun Aug 05 2018, Sun Aug 05 2018, Sun Aug 12 2018, Sun Aug 19 2018, Sun Aug 26 2018, Sun Sep 09 2018, Sun Sep 16 2018.
Sunday, July 1, 2018
Sunday, July 15, 2018
Sunday, August 5, 2018
Sunday, August 5, 2018
Sunday, August 12, 2018
Sunday, August 19, 2018
Sunday, August 26, 2018
Sunday, September 9, 2018
Sunday, September 16, 2018
Time: 
8:30am

The 7,000 acres of pristine wilderness at Island Lake provides countless hiking opportunities.

Scheduled Guided Hikes / Summer 2018

Event Date: 
Sunday, September 9, 2018
Time: 
6:00pm

Please register online before the race, on webscorer. (Note: You must be an FMBC member to participate. Buy your membership online ahead of time.)

Pay with cash at the race $10 to race or $25 includes a T-shirt.

**NEW TIME** meet at the Island Lake gate at 5pm for registration. RACE STARTS AT 6pm.

Pizza, prizes and beer provided at the Elks Hall on 1st Ave after the race.