history

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every day until Sun Sep 12 2021.
Friday, September 10, 2021
Saturday, September 11, 2021
Sunday, September 12, 2021

Please join the Fernie Museum, Fernie Heritage Library, Fernie Mountain Market, Fernie Artistic Guilds and a host of entertainers for a weekend of culture, entertainment and heritage. 

Please note that due to new health guidelines from the Province of BC announced on Friday, August 20th, attendance at all events will be subject to current rules and events may need to be adjusted without notice. Please be patient and refer to festival organisers and social media for up-to-date announcements. Please note:

Event Date(s): 
Friday, September 10, 2021
Time: 
12:00pm

Local historian Lindsay Vallance reveals all in this lighthearted Victorian fashion dress-up demonstration, teamed with a scrumptious lunch.

Tickets required; maximum 30 people.

Get more details about this event here.

Event Date(s): 
Friday, September 10, 2021
Time: 
6:00pm

To accommodate new provincial health orders regarding outdoor events, all entertainment at Chautauqua will be single performances.

This event is free but tickets are required, book here.

Maximum 100 people in attendance.
Gates open at 6pm.

Dual 2014 Memphis International Blues Challenge winner, Four-time JUNO nominee, multiple Maple Blues award nominee, producer and recording artist Tim Williams brings his latest tunes to Chautauqua.

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week every Sunday and every Saturday until Sat Aug 28 2021.
Saturday, July 10, 2021
Sunday, July 11, 2021
Saturday, July 17, 2021
Sunday, July 18, 2021
Saturday, July 24, 2021
Sunday, July 25, 2021
Saturday, July 31, 2021
Sunday, August 1, 2021
Saturday, August 7, 2021
Sunday, August 8, 2021
Saturday, August 14, 2021
Sunday, August 15, 2021
Saturday, August 21, 2021
Sunday, August 22, 2021
Saturday, August 28, 2021

Discover the history and heritage that built the town we know and enjoy today. Guided by knowledgeable local tour guides and explore Historic Downtown Fernie.

EVERY SATURDAY & SUNDAY IN JULY & AUGUST

Cost: $10, includes admission to the Museum. Can be paid on arrival by cash, debit or credit card.

Event Date(s): 
Thursday, May 20, 2021
Time: 
7:00pm

While we cannot gather in person, please join the Fernie Museum for for a one last special zoom event to kick off the summer! They will reward your support with fun and games and entertainment - dressing up is highly encouraged.

Event Date(s): 
Friday, February 12, 2021
Time: 

From Spalding to Abdou: A history of books from and about Fernie, their authors and inspiration.

The stories that have been written in and about Fernie record our history, our lifestyle and our hopes and dreams. The collection of published works includes a wide range of genres from children's books to researched historical texts, novels, memoirs, poetry, anthologies and guides.

Along with supporting materials from the Museum and community, Stories from Fernie celebrates Fernie's literary heritage.

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every day until Tue Jan 12 2021 except Fri Dec 25 2020.
Sunday, December 6, 2020
Monday, December 7, 2020
Tuesday, December 8, 2020
Wednesday, December 9, 2020
Thursday, December 10, 2020
Friday, December 11, 2020
Saturday, December 12, 2020
Sunday, December 13, 2020
Monday, December 14, 2020
Tuesday, December 15, 2020
Wednesday, December 16, 2020
Thursday, December 17, 2020
Friday, December 18, 2020
Saturday, December 19, 2020
Sunday, December 20, 2020
Monday, December 21, 2020
Tuesday, December 22, 2020
Wednesday, December 23, 2020
Thursday, December 24, 2020
Saturday, December 26, 2020
Sunday, December 27, 2020
Monday, December 28, 2020
Tuesday, December 29, 2020
Wednesday, December 30, 2020
Thursday, December 31, 2020
Friday, January 1, 2021
Saturday, January 2, 2021
Sunday, January 3, 2021
Monday, January 4, 2021
Tuesday, January 5, 2021
Wednesday, January 6, 2021
Thursday, January 7, 2021
Friday, January 8, 2021
Saturday, January 9, 2021
Sunday, January 10, 2021
Monday, January 11, 2021
Tuesday, January 12, 2021
Time: 
11:00am - 4:00pm

Fabrics of History
Untangling The Ancient Arts of Spinning, Weaving, Knitting & Felting by Fernie Spinners & Weavers Guild
Curated by Laura Nelson

December 6 2020 - January 12 2021
Hosted in the Fernie Museum Gallery

The Heritage Walking Tour of Downtown Fernie begins at The Arts Station and follows a loop past some of Fernie’s most beautiful and significant architecture to finish at 901 Fernie, a faithful recreation of the former Fernie Secondary School which stood on the same spot. Pick up a copy of the walking tour at the Fernie Museum, Visitor Information Centre, or find it online at tourismfernie.com/history/historic-downtown.

Event Date(s): 
Monday, February 10, 2020
Time: 
12:00pm - 1:00pm

Join researcher Lindsay Vallance from the Fernie Museum for a delicious 2-course lunch at the Fernie Seniors Centre and a look at Death, Disease & Contagion in Fernie in the 20th Century. Fernie’s medical history includes qurantine, VD outbreaks and all manner of things to make you wash your hands a little more thoroughly.

Program Fee: $13 for Museum and Senior Centre members, $15 for the general public. Register online.

Event Date(s): 
Monday, February 17, 2020
Time: 
1:30pm - 3:30pm

You are invited to the Fernie Heritage Strategy Public Open House, helping kick off Heritage Week in Fernie. 

Presentation by the project consultant will begin at 2pm. Light refreshments will be served.