history

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week every Sunday and every Saturday until Sun Aug 27 2023.
Saturday, August 5, 2023
Sunday, August 6, 2023
Saturday, August 12, 2023
Sunday, August 13, 2023
Saturday, August 19, 2023
Sunday, August 20, 2023
Saturday, August 26, 2023
Sunday, August 27, 2023
Time: 

Discover the history and heritage that built the town we know and enjoy today with a knowledgeable local tour guide.

EVERY SATURDAY & SUNDAY IN AUGUST

Tours Depart: from the Museum Saturdays and Sundays
July 1/2, 8/9, 15/16, 22/23, 29/30
August 5/6, 12/13, 19/20, 26/27
September 2/3

Event Date(s): 
Friday, May 5, 2023
Time: 
10:00am - 11:30am

Did you or someone you know attend or work in a school in the Elk Valley that has since closed? 

Join staff and volunteers from the Fernie Museum for complimentary coffee, tea, and snacks, to reminisce and share reflections of those "lost" school days.

Please bring any photographs and documents you wish to share as volunteers will be available onsite to scan for their records. 

Event Date(s): 
Thursday, May 18, 2023
Time: 
7:00pm

Pause in Plight is now on display in the Fernie Museum Gallery. Stop by to view this important exhibition, reflecting on the history of interment in Canada.

Artist Kerri Parnell will be live online to discuss the artwork and this dark period in Canadian History, and to answer questions. Details to follow soon about how to participate in this event.

They encourage participants to visit the Museum to view the exhibit in advance, or explore it in this virtual tour, prepared by the Oseredok Ukrainian Cultural and Educational Centre in Winnipeg:

Event Date(s): 
Wednesday, February 22, 2023
Time: 
7:00pm

A Free Talk by Lindsay Vallance

Turn-of-the-century Fernie was a brawling, sprawling boomtown, with all the amenities a single man could want: bars, boxing rings, pool halls, opera houses...and of course, prostitution.

Learn about the women who lived and worked in the 'Restricted Districts' across the Elk Valley between Fernie's founding in 1898 and the end of World War 1. 

 

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week every Sunday until Sun Aug 28 2022.
Sunday, July 10, 2022
Sunday, July 17, 2022
Sunday, July 24, 2022
Sunday, July 31, 2022
Sunday, August 7, 2022
Sunday, August 14, 2022
Sunday, August 21, 2022
Sunday, August 28, 2022
Time: 
11:00am - 3:00pm

Discover the history and heritage that built the town we know and enjoy today with a knowledgeable local tour guide from the Fernie Museum.

Tours Depart from the Museum on Saturdays and Sundays:
July 9/10, 16/17, 23/24, 30/31
August 6/7, 13/14, 20/21, 27/28

11 AM: The Great Fire
1PM: Fernie at War (by advance reservation only)
3PM: Rumrunners!

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week every Saturday until Sat Aug 27 2022.
Saturday, July 9, 2022
Saturday, July 16, 2022
Saturday, July 23, 2022
Saturday, July 30, 2022
Saturday, August 6, 2022
Saturday, August 13, 2022
Saturday, August 20, 2022
Saturday, August 27, 2022
Time: 
11:00am - 3:00pm

Discover the history and heritage that built the town we know and enjoy today with a knowledgeable local tour guide from the Fernie Museum.

Tours Depart from the Museum on Saturdays and Sundays:
July 9/10, 16/17, 23/24, 30/31
August 6/7, 13/14, 20/21, 27/28

11 AM: The Great Fire
1PM: Fernie at War (by advance reservation only)
3PM: Rumrunners!

Announcing the new #Ktunaxahomelands campaign, allowing locals and travellers to gain an understanding of how the Rockies and Kootenay waterways were formed, while appreciating the significance of the Hoodoos, all from a Ktunaxa perspective.

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every day until Mon Feb 21 2022.
Saturday, February 19, 2022
Sunday, February 20, 2022
Monday, February 21, 2022
Time: 

Find scavenger hunt clues on the Fernie Musem Facebook page or by visiting the Museum, Feb 19-21. Use the new virtual exhibit or visit the gallery to find the answers. Submit your answers by 4pm on Monday 21st to enter the prize draw.

Visit the Fernie Museum website for more details on this event and their latest exhibit. 

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every day until Sun Sep 12 2021.
Friday, September 10, 2021
Saturday, September 11, 2021
Sunday, September 12, 2021

Please join the Fernie Museum, Fernie Heritage Library, Fernie Mountain Market, Fernie Artistic Guilds and a host of entertainers for a weekend of culture, entertainment and heritage. 

Please note that due to new health guidelines from the Province of BC announced on Friday, August 20th, attendance at all events will be subject to current rules and events may need to be adjusted without notice. Please be patient and refer to festival organisers and social media for up-to-date announcements. Please note:

Event Date(s): 
Friday, September 10, 2021
Time: 
12:00pm

Local historian Lindsay Vallance reveals all in this lighthearted Victorian fashion dress-up demonstration, teamed with a scrumptious lunch.

Tickets required; maximum 30 people.

Get more details about this event here.