hiking

Com·mu·ni·ty - A feeling of fellowship with others, as a result of sharing common attitudes, interests, and goals.

Island Lake Lodge opens for the summer season on June 7th!

Treat yourself this summer and explore natural wonders at Island Lake Lodge. From hiking to relaxing in the serene environment of their mountain spa or indulging in acclaimed food and wine – their summer activities showcase the best that Island Lake Lodge and the mountains surrounding Fernie, BC have to offer.

Event Date: 
Saturday, June 15, 2019
Time: 
10:00am - 2:00pm

Join Terry Nelson, author of the recently published book, Fernie Area Hiking Guide and Natural Plant Compendium on a hosted plant identification interpretive hike. Learn about many of the native plants along the Fairy Creek Falls Trail as it passes through a variety of ecological zones.

Price includes a signed copy of the author’s new book for your future explorations!

Event Date: 
Repeats every day 1 times. Also includes Sun Jul 28 2019, Sun Aug 04 2019, Sun Aug 11 2019, Sun Aug 18 2019, Sun Aug 25 2019, Sun Sep 08 2019.
Sunday, July 14, 2019
Sunday, July 28, 2019
Sunday, August 4, 2019
Sunday, August 11, 2019
Sunday, August 18, 2019
Sunday, August 25, 2019
Sunday, September 8, 2019

The 7,000 acres of pristine wilderness at Island Lake provides countless hiking opportunities. Whether you are interested in a 30-minute walk or a Full Day hike, Island Lake has hiking trails for all ability levels. We have a full-time trail crew who keeps the trail system well maintained. Want to learn about flora & fauna?

Have you been riding Swine Flu? Have you been troubled by mud just past the cattleguard and to the right? 

Event Date: 
Friday, June 7, 2019
Time: 

Enjoy lunch on the Bear Patio alongside creative cocktails or enjoy gourmet dining in the evening restaurant while the sun sets over the Three Bears. 

Fernie really does have it all when it comes to summer adventures with your kids. Here are three (or four) of my personal favourites that are a little off the beaten track.

Event Date: 
Saturday, June 22, 2019
Time: 
10:00am - 5:00pm

Fernie Alpine Resort opens for Summer operations on June 22nd to September 2nd!

Open daily: 10am – 5pm (7pm on Thursdays)

Early Bird Summer Season Passes are on sale NOW! Get yours here!

Trails connect our communities, take us to spectacular locations and provide fresh-air opportunities to get moving. Around the Columbia Basin, 29 projects will be adding to or improving the region’s trails, with over $484,000 from Columbia Basin Trust’s Trail Enhancement Grants.

Exploring the outdoors and breathing in the fresh mountain air is often a great way to find your inner voice. A great escape from your daily life commitments is to hit the trails. A hike up to the top of Swine Flu is a good option. It’s relatively short and has a great view of the city from the bench at the top.