hiking

If you’ve been following along since June, and finding all of the donation boxes for our summer Scavenger Hunt, you have reached two beautiful locations so far - The Fairy Creek Falls and the Cedar Forest off of Gorby Trail. 

Summer at Fernie Alpine Resort is in full swing, with record summer passes purchased and many visitors and residents enjoying all that the lift-access offers including a variety of hikes and an extensive network of trails for all levels of riders and preferred styles of riding.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Aug 16 2020.
Friday, August 14, 2020
Saturday, August 15, 2020
Sunday, August 16, 2020
Time: 

Come and experience our wonderful network of hiking trails, leading you through old-growth cedar forests and up into the alpine. A self-guided event that runs over the whole month of August.
There are 8 hiking trails to choose from with something for the whole family to enjoy. The more hikes you complete, the more entries into our prize draw at the end of the month.

Registration opens on August 1st.

Register online for FREE.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Aug 09 2020.
Friday, August 7, 2020
Saturday, August 8, 2020
Sunday, August 9, 2020

Come and experience the wonderful network of hiking trails at Fernie Alpine Resort, leading you through old-growth cedar forests and up into the alpine. A self-guided event that runs over the whole month of August. There are 8 hiking trails to choose from with something for the whole family to enjoy. The more hikes you complete, the more entries into our prize draw at the end of the month.

Registration opens on August 1st.

Register online for FREE.

Island Lake Lodge is excited to now be open for summer 2020! Here are some things they are doing to keep staff and guests safe this summer. Come on up and enjoy hiking, biking, dining and spend some much needed time in our wonderful day spa.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Thu Jul 23 2020. Also includes Mon Jul 27 2020, Tue Jul 28 2020, Wed Jul 29 2020, Thu Jul 30 2020.
Monday, July 20, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Time: 
10:30am - 4:30pm

Thanks to our local community!

Fernie Alpine Resort's 2020 Summer Community Appreciation Program will include special offers to locals from July 20-23 and July 27-30.

Special Offers To Locals Include:
- Complimentary Single Ride Lift Ticket (Elk Chairlift)
- 25% off Bike Rentals (subject to availability - onsite only, no advance booking)
- 50% Full Day or Twilight or 3 Lap Lift Ticket (Elk Chairlift)
- 20% off One (1) Main Dish at Legends Mountain Eatery (valid until Sept. 7/20)

The Fernie Trails Alliance (FTA) has been focusing on a number of key initiatives including Trail Work Procedures, COVID Procedures and communications.

Event Date: 
Friday, June 26, 2020
Time: 
8:00am

Island Lake Lodge is officially open for the summer season!

Dining - Summer will start with both the Bear Lodge Bistro and Tamarack Dining Room opening for our fantastic food and beverage service.  Operations will differ from the past, but we are excited to be able to offer the Island Lake experience to our guests. Hours of operation will be: The Bear Bistro:  11am- 8pm

The Tamarack Dining Room: 5pm - 9pm

Reservations are recommended for the Tamarack Dining Room. Check our website for menus.

Arriving at one of the many peaks surrounding this Valley, and taking in the awesome views is always a summer highlight. Here are your favourites from 2019.

Gold: 
Heiko's Trail
Silver: 
Goldilocks
Bronze: 
Spineback

The number of summer activities is on the rise in this beautiful Valley, drawing numerous people to our community with a substantial increase in summer tourism year after year.

Gold: 
Biking
Silver: 
Hiking
Bronze: 
Golf