Fernie Nordic Society

Event Date: 
Sunday, February 2, 2020
Time: 
4pm

Join your fellow 2020 #ferniestreak - ers this Sunday to celebrate getting outdoors for as many days as possible in January! What a great way to kick off the year - congratulations to everyone who kept going, regardless of weather, missing a day here or there...

Event Date: 
Repeats every day 1 times. Also includes Sat Jan 11 2020, Sat Feb 08 2020, Sun Mar 08 2020.
Friday, December 13, 2019
Saturday, January 11, 2020
Saturday, February 8, 2020
Sunday, March 8, 2020
Time: 
7:00pm

On the night of the full moon join other skiers for a beautiful moonlit ski around the Fernie Nordic Centre next to Lizard Creek. Bring a snack to share and your headlamp and enjoy the fire and food with friends after the ski! 

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Nov 10 2019.
Friday, November 8, 2019
Saturday, November 9, 2019
Sunday, November 10, 2019
Time: 
4:00pm - 7:00pm

The SkiErg Sprints is an annual virtual race that allows you to compare your 1k time against others worldwide in a one-weekend showdown of SkiErg speed. There are age categories from 12 and under to 80+ as well as adaptive classes. This event is for everyone!

Fernie’s second Birkie is an approximately 50 km classic event (not including the chairlift ride!); it's unsupported and happens March 10th.

Bring your registration fee of $20 per person on the morning of the event or pay with credit card or by e-transfer during registration. Bring your classic skis as there is NO skating in this event.

Event Date: 
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm

Hosted by the Fernie Nordic Society and Save on Foods, this fun event kicks off the Snow to Ice Challenge that runs all Griz Day weekend.

Brought to you by the Fernie Nordic Society and the Fernie Trail Alliance.

Building on the success of 2018, the Fernie Nordic Society is hosting the 'Snow to Ice (cream)' Challenge. Complete four trail challenges within 72 hours to cash in on free Happy Cow ice cream and a glass of the best beer from Fernie Brewing.

#FernieStreak / Fer•nie•Streak / verb

Nordic Ski, Bike, Run or Hike, outside, for a minimum of 30 minutes, every day, for the entire month of January. Clothes optional, but highly recommended.

How does one streak? Simply fill in your daily dose below, join the January 2019. #FernieStreak

Event Date: 
Sunday, March 10, 2019

Last year’s first ever Birkie was so fun! It is back for more thrills! See the Fernie Fix article written by coach Jeff Williams to learn more about this epic race. Visit their facebook page for the event here for more details!

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Mar 03 2019.
Friday, March 1, 2019
Saturday, March 2, 2019
Sunday, March 3, 2019
Time: 

Complete all 4 challenges within 72 hours. 

Prove you’ve completed each leg by taking a time-stamped selfie at each of the four (4) SNOW TO ICE signs! Bonus prize entries for multisport use! The Fernie Nordic Society trails will be free for non-members between 7p.m. on Thursday Feb. 28th to Sunday March 3rd at 7p.m.

More chances for prizes for multi-sports (while following the trail rules) and wearing plaid!

Event Date: 
Sunday, February 3, 2019
Time: 
9:30am

The Fernie Nordic Society is holding its 7th Annual Community Fun Race day on Sunday February 3. The event starts at 10:30 am from the warming hut of the Nordic Centre. All skiers are invited to participate, club members and non-members alike. The overall theme will be FUN and CHEERS for all. Although this event has a four letter word in its name, the Nordic Society wishes to welcome all participants of all abilities to the event, not just ‘racers’.