Fernie Museum

Event Date(s): 
Sunday, January 15, 2023
Time: 
1:00pm - 4:00pm

Join Fernie Spinners & Weavers Guild members Hilary Deluca and Laura Loewen for an instructional workshop on the techniques of visible mending - mending a garment in such a way that the mending is visible, but also beautiful. All tools required will be supplied along with scraps of fabric to practice on. Students are encouraged to bring their own items that require mending.

$20.00 per person, maximum 6 participants. Class will be held in the Museum Gallery. Purchase tickets at the Museum or call 250-423-7016.

Event Date(s): 
Thursday, December 15, 2022
Time: 
7:00pm

The Fernie Museum is pleased to welcome back the Fernie Spinners & Weavers Guild for a second show featuring new work focusing on the sustainability and environmental aspects of hand made and locally produced garments.

In this new exhibit, the Fernie Spinners and Weavers Guild looks at fashion through the lens of sustainability and showcases how the natural fibre arts have a direct role to play in the growing Slow Fashion movement. Content encourages viewers to explore ways we can help make a shift away from the many negative impacts of Fast Fashion systems.

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every day until Sat Dec 24 2022.
Thursday, December 15, 2022
Friday, December 16, 2022
Saturday, December 17, 2022
Sunday, December 18, 2022
Monday, December 19, 2022
Tuesday, December 20, 2022
Wednesday, December 21, 2022
Thursday, December 22, 2022
Friday, December 23, 2022
Saturday, December 24, 2022
Time: 

Holiday Giftwrapping at the Fernie Museum! Bring them your purchases and they'll wrap them all up for a donation. November 25 - December 24, 2022.

All proceeds support Fernie Museum programming and operations.

Items can be dropped off at any time during their regular opening hours and they will contact you when they are ready for pick up.

THE MUSEUM IS OPEN 11 AM - 4 PM ON THE FOLLOWING DAYS:

Thu - Sun, November 24 - 27
** AND 5 - 8pm on November 25**

Thu - Sun: Dec 1 - 4 & 8 - 11
Daily: Dec 15 - 24 & 27 - 31

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every day until Sun Dec 11 2022.
Saturday, December 10, 2022
Sunday, December 11, 2022

Holiday Gift Wrapping at the Fernie Museum! Bring them your purchases and they'll wrap them all up for a donation. November 25 - December 24, 2022.

All proceeds support Fernie Museum programming and operations.

Items can be dropped off at any time during their regular opening hours and they will contact you when they are ready for pick up.

THE MUSEUM IS OPEN 11 AM - 4 PM ON THE FOLLOWING DAYS:

Thu - Sun, November 24 - 27
** AND 5 - 8pm on November 25**

Thu - Sun: Dec 1 - 4 & 8 - 11
Daily: Dec 15 - 24 & 27 - 31

Event Date(s): 
Saturday, December 10, 2022
Time: 
6:00pm

The Fernie Museum is proud to present a new and exciting exhibit: the sarcophagus and grave goods of Ha-Ma-Sa'it, Egyptian priestess of Osiris, recently excavated in the Egyptian desert! Despite rumours of a terrible curse, the Museum is holding a Grand Gala opening, hosting the wealthy and fabulous of the city for an evening of fun, frolic and philanthropy.

Event Date(s): 
Thursday, October 20, 2022
Time: 
7:00pm

For over a century, West Fernie was an independent settlement that resisted joining the City of Fernie—despite being surrounded by it. The Big Bend uncovers how the rapidly settled community of West Fernie came into being, flourished, and then stagnated due to the conflict that grew between West Fernie and the City of Fernie.

Written by award-winning historian, Kevin Allen, The Big Bend explores how political leadership resolved seemingly intractable differences, bringing union with the City and community renewal to West Fernie.

Event Date(s): 
Wednesday, October 26, 2022
Time: 
7:00pm

The Fernie & District Historical Society AGM will be held on Wednesday, October 26th at 7pm in the Museum Gallery.

All welcome. Only members in good standing may vote. Purchase or renew your membership here.

Memberships purchased now, include the remainder of 2022 and are valid to the end of 2023.

Further details to be announced.

 

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week every Sunday until Sun Aug 28 2022.
Sunday, July 10, 2022
Sunday, July 17, 2022
Sunday, July 24, 2022
Sunday, July 31, 2022
Sunday, August 7, 2022
Sunday, August 14, 2022
Sunday, August 21, 2022
Sunday, August 28, 2022
Time: 
11:00am - 3:00pm

Discover the history and heritage that built the town we know and enjoy today with a knowledgeable local tour guide from the Fernie Museum.

Tours Depart from the Museum on Saturdays and Sundays:
July 9/10, 16/17, 23/24, 30/31
August 6/7, 13/14, 20/21, 27/28

11 AM: The Great Fire
1PM: Fernie at War (by advance reservation only)
3PM: Rumrunners!

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week every Saturday until Sat Aug 27 2022.
Saturday, July 9, 2022
Saturday, July 16, 2022
Saturday, July 23, 2022
Saturday, July 30, 2022
Saturday, August 6, 2022
Saturday, August 13, 2022
Saturday, August 20, 2022
Saturday, August 27, 2022
Time: 
11:00am - 3:00pm

Discover the history and heritage that built the town we know and enjoy today with a knowledgeable local tour guide from the Fernie Museum.

Tours Depart from the Museum on Saturdays and Sundays:
July 9/10, 16/17, 23/24, 30/31
August 6/7, 13/14, 20/21, 27/28

11 AM: The Great Fire
1PM: Fernie at War (by advance reservation only)
3PM: Rumrunners!

Event Date(s): 
Friday, September 9, 2022
Time: 
11:00am

The above-ground realm of women and girls in the coal mining town of Michel was one of colour, caretaking and pride. After its relocation to Sparwood in the mid 1960s, Michel ceased to exist on the map. For those who lived there, Michel still exists in their hearts and the things they create.