Culture

Event Date: 
Thursday, March 28, 2019

Hinterland Woods is a platform for the sculptural creations of Jocelyn Mudry, an independent Canadian artist. She attended the University of Victoria, receiving a Bachelor of Fine Arts. Her main focus during school was photography and would build spaces, costumes, and props using different mediums, including wire, textiles and wood to create worlds within her photos. What began as a supplement to her photography has now becomes the focus of her creative language.

Event Date: 
Friday, April 12, 2019
Time: 
9:00am - 4:00pm

Arts BC Community Cultural Forum presented in collaboration with the Fernie and District Arts Council.

BC’s Community Cultural Forums are part of the Knowledge Sharing services we offer to help build the capacity of arts and culture leaders in communities around the province. These forums are designed to be day-long professional development programs tailored to your arts and culture community’s needs.

Join Patricia Huntsman for a specialized day of learning, dialogue and exchange.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week 1 times. Also includes Wed Apr 10 2019, Mon Apr 15 2019, Wed Apr 17 2019.
Monday, April 8, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Time: 
6:00pm - 9:00pm

Have you been wanting to try your hand at the potter's wheel? Are looking to hone your skills? With a max of 5 students, this two day class provides you with ample opportunity to practice your throwing skills. Ideal for beginners or those with some experience, we will go through the basics of throwing basic vessels and trimming pottery while trouble shooting any individual challenges that may arise. Clay purchase is required for non-guild members while members may use their own.

Event Date: 
Saturday, March 23, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Join Sue Hanlon for a social evening of painting. Sue will guide you through a painting step by step for 2 hours. Beginners are most welcome! She will be supplying all of the materials and instruction. We’re putting the fun back into painting as we concentrate on the process on the way to a finished product!

Artistic voice is more than just a style or a particular colour palette; it is a way of making something that is so unique to us and our lives that it could not have been made by any other person. It’s a process that turns mechanical mark-making into a deeply personal result. 

Melanie will be exhibiting a collection of paintings inspired by her adventures in the outdoors. From skiing, mountain biking and hiking, most outdoor enthusiasts and nature lovers can picture themselves in a MacVoy painting. Her recent work is inspired by painting outdoors en plein air, photography and realistic impressionism.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Apr 07 2019 except Thu Mar 21 2019, Thu Mar 28 2019, Thu Apr 04 2019.
Saturday, March 16, 2019
Sunday, March 17, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Saturday, March 23, 2019
Sunday, March 24, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Saturday, March 30, 2019
Sunday, March 31, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Saturday, April 6, 2019
Sunday, April 7, 2019
Time: 
1:00pm - 5:00pm

Event Date: 
Repeats every week 1 times.
Friday, March 29, 2019
Time: 
9:00am - 4:00pm

Over Spring Break, Rachel Behan and Heather Senior offer funky arts based projects, with chilled out vibes! A new project each week, each with valuable creative learning outcomes.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week 1 times.
Monday, March 25, 2019
Time: 
9:00am - 4:00pm

Over Spring Break, Rachel Behan and Heather Senior offer funky arts based projects, with chilled out vibes! A new project each week, each with valuable creative learning outcomes.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week 1 times.
Friday, March 15, 2019
Time: 
9:00am - 4:00pm

Over Spring Break, Rachel Behan and Heather Senior offer funky arts based projects, with chilled out vibes! A new project each week, each with valuable creative learning outcomes.