Culture

Westerners often misunderstand the concept of Geisha and think of them as something immoral or tawdry. In Japan, however, the occupation of geisha has a long and honourable history. Geisha were high class, well-educated hostess-courtesans, who entertained wealthy, sophisticated and powerful Japanese gentlemen who desired elegance, culture, and brilliant conversation in an exotic yet refined atmosphere. 

Event Date: 
Sunday, July 21, 2019
Time: 
1:00pm - 3:00pm

Shibori is an ancient Japanese art form best described as “resist” dyeing. The Japanese developed the techniques for silk fabrics that were often used in kimonos.

Originally, natural dyes, including indigo, were used to colour the fabric. Stitching, folding and clamping were some of the techniques used to create patterns. In Japan, these techniques have been practiced and improved upon for over 1300 years.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week 1 times. Also includes Sat Sep 21 2019, Sat Oct 05 2019, Sat Oct 19 2019, Sat Nov 02 2019, Sat Nov 16 2019, Sat Jan 11 2020, Sat Jan 25 2020, Sat Feb 08 2020, Sat Feb 22 2020, Sat Mar 14 2020, Sat Mar 28 2020.
Saturday, September 7, 2019
Saturday, September 21, 2019
Saturday, October 5, 2019
Saturday, October 19, 2019
Saturday, November 2, 2019
Saturday, November 16, 2019
Saturday, January 11, 2020
Saturday, January 25, 2020
Saturday, February 8, 2020
Saturday, February 22, 2020
Saturday, March 14, 2020
Saturday, March 28, 2020
Time: 
1:00pm - 3:00pm

6 week course — every second Saturday, 1-3 p.m.
Choose either FALL SEMESTER or WINTER SEMESTER:
FALL: Sept 7, 21; Oct 5, 19; Nov 2, 16
WINTER: Jan 11, 25; Feb 8, 22; March 14, 28
Maximum 8 participants per semester

Event Date: 
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm

This collection has evolved from a previous show of abstracts that were predominantly black on white. This time, colour dominates the abstract theme and is the inspiration for this exhibition.

Creativity plus experimentation work to inspire each piece. Many are peppered with a good bit of luck! Knowing when to toss or continue, to add more or not is key. Layering simple design to dramatic effect, with an eye for colour and balance all work together to create each compelling image.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Aug 11 2019.
Saturday, August 10, 2019
Sunday, August 11, 2019
Time: 
10:00am - 5:00pm

The Columbia Basin Culture Tour showcases art and artists in their chosen environment.

Each location will be open 10am-5pm on Saturday & Sunday, August 10 & 11 (plus regular opening hours). 

The tour is completed at your leisure and is self-directed, as well as free of charge! This event is a great opportunity to witness fine art of many different styles and to explore studios that are not normally open to the public.

Event Date: 
Friday, June 21, 2019
Time: 
12:00pm - 1:30pm

Gather around our long garden table to recognize and celebrate indigenous culture and people in our community. Please bring a potluck dish to share. After lunch, Pat Moore invites all interested in some rock painting. All are welcome.

There are plenty of people who parrot the mountain-town refrain, “Came for winter and stayed for the summer” in these parts. While it doesn’t roll off the tongue as well, it’s also fitting to say, “Came for the outdoor rec and stayed for the culture.”

Event Date: 
Friday, June 7, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:30pm

Join for a wonderful evening of Japanese culture with guest curator Barry Till in attendance, along with sake tasting and authentic Japanese cuisine by Yamagoya. This event launches the Fernie Museum's must-see summer exhibit, From Geisha To Diva: The Kimono of Ichimaru.

As spring shines in, I have been awarded the great honour of Poet Laureate by the Fernie Academy for poetry month. I value this title beyond measure as I recognize that simply by doing what I love, I am accepted, I am recognized, and I am valued by my community. 

ur simple actions can have concrete and deep-reaching effects on our neighbours.