Culture

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week every Tuesday until Tue Feb 28 2023.
Tuesday, February 7, 2023
Tuesday, February 14, 2023
Tuesday, February 21, 2023
Tuesday, February 28, 2023
Time: 
8:00pm

Join Top-O for Wheel of Karaoke every Tuesday in December. More details to come!

Event Date(s): 
Wednesday, January 18, 2023
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Join the Arts Station in the theatre for a fun Elk River collaboration to paint a river themed mug. 

The Elk River Alliance will teach us all about river systems and inspire our creative minds. Pottery Manager Caroline will teach you the basics of pottery painting to create your one of a kind mug!

Elk River Alliance and FDAC members get a special member discount. 

It’s become our habit to use the turning of the year as a time to reflect, to appraise the past trip around the sun, and attempt to implement changes we feel need to happen in our lives. I often find myself ready for a new outlook, and—even though we are typically heading into the coldest part of winter—something to look forward to in my life. 

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Feb 22 2023.
Wednesday, January 18, 2023
Wednesday, January 25, 2023
Wednesday, February 1, 2023
Wednesday, February 8, 2023
Wednesday, February 15, 2023
Wednesday, February 22, 2023
Time: 
6:00pm - 7:30pm

This program provides a supportive environment for kids to express themselves while learning new art applications. This youth program has guest teachers each week to help teach the kids different art mediums and leave with a finished product! Pottery, digital art, printing and much more!

January 18th - February 22nd
Cost $150
Material included

Age group is 11- 15 "For the creative In-betweens"

The guest teachers:

Event Date(s): 
Friday, January 20, 2023
Time: 
1:00pm - 3:00pm

This public session is part of Fernie Art Streak! The Word of the day is: PATTERN

Are you curious about the Fernie Quilters Guild? Here's your chance to meet the guild and see them in action! This session is open to everyone, and is intended to inspire participants of the Fernie Art Streak.

Visit the Arts Station website for more details on this event and many other great events.

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every day until Sat Jan 21 2023.
Thursday, January 19, 2023
Friday, January 20, 2023
Saturday, January 21, 2023
Time: 
4:00pm

This is an opportunity for Fernie Quilters to come and work on their projects in a group setting over a weekend.

The primary purposes of the Fernie Quilters’ Guild is to provide education and mutual support to the Guild members; to promote  skill and creativity in quilting; and to contribute to our community through sharing and charity.  

If you wish to join or find out more information please contact directly:

ferniequilters@gmail.com

Event Date(s): 
Thursday, January 27, 2022
Time: 
10:00am - 3:30pm

Rachel Behan and Heather Senior offer funky arts based projects, with chilled out vibes! A new project each week, each with valuable creative learning outcomes.

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Feb 15 2023.
Wednesday, January 25, 2023
Wednesday, February 1, 2023
Wednesday, February 8, 2023
Wednesday, February 15, 2023
Time: 
7:00pm - 8:15pm

Join Rivka for a 4 week dance class for an opportunity to connect to your sensual self in a supportive, body-positive, and open atmosphere. Each week we will work through a warm-up and conditioning, skills and techniques, and work on sexy and fun choreography. We will start off barefoot, but have a chance to play around with heels! 

This dance class is open to all and no previous dance experience is necessary.

Event Date(s): 
Sunday, January 15, 2023
Time: 
10:00am - 3:00pm

Join Jerri Lynn for this day workshop to build your skills in pottery hand building. Jerri Lynn has been part of the Arts Station studio and Fernie Potters Guild for many years and this is a great opportunity to learn more about pottery handbuilding technique from her. This will include shapes and form with the focus will be on making drinking vessels (or mugs, glasses, and/or wine tumblers).

1/3 brick of Clay and materials provided. No experience is necessary. Up to 3 pieces glazed and fired for beginners. If you have any of the following please bring with you:

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week every Monday until Mon Jan 30 2023.
Monday, January 9, 2023
Monday, January 16, 2023
Monday, January 23, 2023
Monday, January 30, 2023
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Meet the pottery wheel with this comprehensive introduction to throwing! Join the Fernie Arts Station pottery studio manager and instructor Caroline in this multi-week course where you'll learn the basics of creating functional vessels on the potter's wheel. Please note the following: