cross country skiing

Nestled between rugged peaks and along cool waters, Fernie has long been considered among the world’s premier winter holiday destinations. With snowfalls of 30 feet or more, Fernie residents and visitors alike embrace the season by making the most of our vast outdoor playground. We are especially lucky to be able to enjoy our open spaces during these pandemic times and remain active year-round. Whether you’re looking for a low-key stroll or a heart pumping ride, we’ve got an outdoor space for everyone!

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday until Sun Mar 28 2021.
Sunday, December 20, 2020
Sunday, December 27, 2020
Sunday, January 3, 2021
Sunday, January 10, 2021
Sunday, January 17, 2021
Sunday, January 24, 2021
Sunday, January 31, 2021
Sunday, February 7, 2021
Sunday, February 14, 2021
Sunday, February 21, 2021
Sunday, February 28, 2021
Sunday, March 7, 2021
Sunday, March 14, 2021
Sunday, March 21, 2021
Sunday, March 28, 2021
Time: 
11:00am - 1:00pm

Enjoy the tranquility and beauty of their Nordic trail system. Fully guided by Fernie Alpine Resort's professional staff. Package includes guided cross-country ski tour and rentals.

Cost
$39.00 + taxes

Please pick up rentals at the FAR Rental Shop in advance.
Meet at the Winter Sports School Meeting Place at 11am - ready to go!

Pre-book at (250) 423-2406 or snowschool@skifernie.com

 

Connecting and enjoying time with friends in the outdoors has never been more important to our well-being as it has since the arrival of the global pandemic in 2020.  

If you are interested in making your cross country skiing a little smoother, and possibly a little more enjoyable, give these exercises a try.

Thanks to the Fernie Nordic Society, our classic and skate skiing options have grown over the last few years. Here are this year's picks.

Gold: 
Elk Valley Nordic Centre
Silver: 
Montane
Bronze: 
Golf Course

Opportunities abound in Fernie when it comes to getting out and about with your four-legged friends. While the Nordic Centre and Golf Course are STRICTLY for Nordic Skiing ONLY do not despair.

Winter is here! Fernie-ites and visitors alike are eager to get outside and shred. On top of hitting the slopes, did you know that Fernie also has five unique xc skiing areas with over 50 km of trails to explore? It’s a great activity for the whole family especially as it is so accessible for new moms and soon-to-be moms. 

Event Date: 
Repeats every day 1 times. Also includes Sat Jan 11 2020, Sat Feb 08 2020, Sun Mar 08 2020.
Friday, December 13, 2019
Saturday, January 11, 2020
Saturday, February 8, 2020
Sunday, March 8, 2020
Time: 
7:00pm

On the night of the full moon join other skiers for a beautiful moonlit ski around the Fernie Nordic Centre next to Lizard Creek. Bring a snack to share and your headlamp and enjoy the fire and food with friends after the ski! 

Fernie’s second Birkie is an approximately 50 km classic event (not including the chairlift ride!); it's unsupported and happens March 10th.

Bring your registration fee of $20 per person on the morning of the event or pay with credit card or by e-transfer during registration. Bring your classic skis as there is NO skating in this event.

December is a great time of year for a family adventure in the outdoors. A fantastic activity for everyone in the family is Nordic skiing. Whether you have skate or classic skis, a great place for all levels is the Fernie Golf Course. With little change in elevation, it gives everyone a chance to find his or her ski legs.