community

Event Date: 
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm

Please join the City and Northwest Hydraulic Consultants for a presentation on the findings of the Flood Mitigation Plan, as well as collect feedback for incorporation into the draft report.

The City of Fernie hired a consultant to prepare a Flood Mitigation Plan for the City. The project was funded by the Provincial Government through the Emergency Management BC program. The project included an assessment of the existing dikes and development of prioritized future projects to mitigate the flood hazard.

Most of us have had an experience with Ski School… whether learning to ski or snowboard as a child, or as a cry for help after trying to pass these skills onto our own kids. Wendy Reade is the the queen of FAR’s Winter Sports School.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week 1 times. Also includes Wed Jan 09 2019, Wed Feb 06 2019, Wed Feb 20 2019.
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm - 8:00pm

** TICKET SALES HAVE ENDED FOR THIS EVENT ***

This year Dr. Kallie Doucette (Naturopathic Doctor) and Jennifer O'donnell (Nutritionist and Health Coach) suggest building new habits, rather than resolutions as 2018 comes to a close and 2019 opens its doors of opportunity. They have crafted a specific supportive approach that they welcome you to learn in their 4 part workshop series starting Jan 9th that will run every other Wednesday until February 20th from 7-8pm.

Columbia Basin Trust​ is announcing changes to its Board of Directors. Rick Jensen has been reappointed to the role of Chair while Jocelyn Carver, who joined the Board in 2018, has been appointed Vice-Chair, while other new additions include Krista Turcasso, Don McCormick and Ron Oszust. 

Event Date: 
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Are you worried about the clear-cutting around Fernie? Join us for a public forum on logging on private land in the Elk Valley to learn about what’s going to be logged next, how much has already been cut and why private forest land logging in the Elk Valley hurts our communities, trails, environment and wildlife.

The City of Fernie received an application to rezone the Lutheran Church from Public Institutional to Residential and planners were faced with the challenge of how to preserve the value of a heritage building, and perhaps more importantly, create a framework that would ensure the Lutheran Church would not be demolished.

Playing can be initiated and happen in many ways. As an educator, my teaching journey has led me to explore the deeper aspects and benefits of child-lead learning, much of which happens through play. It can be very difficult for adults to be patient, step back and observe; however, uninterrupted play initiated by children serves their future selves through a variety of ways. 

Event Date: 
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Time: 
4:00pm - 7:00pm

The Fernie Family Housing Society are hosting a Community Meeting to discuss the proposed Affordable Housing Development at 1301 4th Avenue, Fernie BC (adjacent to Tom Uphill Manor).

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Mon Feb 18 2019.
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Saturday, February 2, 2019
Sunday, February 3, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Saturday, February 9, 2019
Sunday, February 10, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Saturday, February 16, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Monday, February 18, 2019
Time: 
11:00am - 7:00pm

Griz Days is the current recipient of Fernie Brewing Company's fantastic Cheers to Charity program. Get yourself over to FBC, buy a flight, taste something new, and raise funds for Griz Days. How can life get any better?

Is your business growing or succession planning? Columbia Basin Trust’s Career Internship Program may be able to help meet your resourcing needs. Applications are currently being accepted on a first-come, first-serve basis.