community

Columbia Basin Trust is developing a short-term plan to help guide its activities over the next 18 to 24 months.

I found myself this past week thinking a lot about the definition of civility, how tenuous it is and how our community is the owner of it. Civility can tear as easy as tissue paper.

The City of Fernie has received grant funding from the B.C. Active Transportation Infrastructure Grants Program to use towards completing an Active Transportation Network Plan (ATNP).

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Saturday until Sat Jul 25 2020.
Saturday, June 27, 2020
Saturday, July 4, 2020
Saturday, July 11, 2020
Saturday, July 18, 2020
Saturday, July 25, 2020
Time: 
3:45pm

Meat Draw is back!

It may look a little different, but The Legion is excited to have Meat Draw back on a Saturday from 4pm onwards. Come along, have a beer and win some meat!

Limited seating will be available so arrive early - they are open from 3pm!

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic the structure will be a little different and may change as guidelines do. Their policy below outlines the structure. They look forward to welcoming you back for some fun!

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Jul 30 2020.
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Time: 
1:00pm

Art History with Jackie has moved to Thursdays! Videos will launch on Thursday afternoons, and you are invited to come to the Arts Station for Art on Deck to practice in the style of each week's featured artist!

July 2nd - Keith Haring
July 9th - Lawren Harris
July 16th - Edward Hopper
July 23rd - Salvador Dali
July 30th - Claude Monet

They will discuss the artist of the week and their painting style, and then you are free to try your hand at their style.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Fri Jun 26 2020.
Monday, June 22, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020

One stop shop for Canada Day at home! This is a great way to support local businesses.

Event Date: 
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Time: 
1:30pm - 2:30pm

The Fernie Chamber of Commerce is committed to keeping our local businesses connected with the latest available information regarding COVID-19, relief available for businesses and our local economic recovery.

Fernie Business Community COVID-19 Zoom Meeting

Event Date: 
Repeats every day 1 times. Also includes Wed Jul 15 2020, Wed Aug 05 2020, Wed Aug 19 2020.
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Time: 
5:45pm

Do you have wheels you're stoked about?

Come and join the Fernie Legion for their bi-monthly cruise!

Meet at The Fernie Legion at 5.45pm for a 6pm departure cruising round town in convoy, visiting both care homes and various spots in town, raisin smiles and waves as we go! It could be a classic car, 4x4 truck, off road truck, motorbike or any other wheeled vehicle you're proud of!

We then finish back at The Fernie Legion for a cold beverage.

Businesses, social enterprises and the workforce in the Columbia Basin now have access to even more support to help them in these challenging times. In response to ongoing COVID-19-related developments—including the re-opening of many businesses—Columbia Basin Trust is expanding the ways it can help people and businesses move forward.

As most rivers and streams recede across the region, the BC River Forecast Centre has downgraded the East Kootenay to a High Streamflow Advisory from a Flood Watch. And, while that is encouraging news, the RDEK is urging residents to continue to be prepared and aware in the days and weeks to come.