books

Event Date(s): 
Thursday, December 2, 2021
Time: 
7:00pm - 8:00pm

Join Canadian fiction writer, poet, and singer-songwriter Steven Heighton in discussion with local author Angie Abdou.

This event will also be streamed via Zoom on the night and a recording will be posted to Facebook post-event. REGISTER HERE

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week every Tuesday and every Friday until Fri Dec 31 2021.
Friday, December 3, 2021
Tuesday, December 7, 2021
Friday, December 10, 2021
Tuesday, December 14, 2021
Friday, December 17, 2021
Tuesday, December 21, 2021
Friday, December 24, 2021
Tuesday, December 28, 2021
Friday, December 31, 2021
Time: 
11:15am - 12:15pm

Preschool programming that you can join from your own home!

Event Date(s): 
Tuesday, November 16, 2021
Time: 
6:30pm - 7:30pm

The Read Local Book Club is a great opportunity to connect with other readers across the Kootenay's to discuss local authors’ books and meet the author.

In November they’re discussing a novel by Jennifer Ellis, “Confessions of a Failed Environmentalist”

Part satire, part serious, Confessions of a Failed Environmentalist is about the cast of characters who seem to pop up in all environmental disputes, and how all of us fail sometimes to do the right thing for the environment, in both big and small ways.

Event Date(s): 
Friday, November 19, 2021
Time: 
6:30pm - 7:30pm

Local Author Talk! Join the Fernie Heritage Library and your library neighbors from the Kootenays and Boundary, for an evening with Marilyn James and Taress Alexis, authors of Not Extinct: Keeping the Sinixt Way. They're celebrating the virtual launch of the 2nd edition with lively storytelling and interesting discussions about contemporary Sinixt realities, decolonization, and reconciliation.

November 19th at 6:30pm, on Zoom. Email Kootenaylibrariesprogramming@gmail.com to register for this free event!

Event Date(s): 
Friday, November 26, 2021
Time: 
1:30pm - 2:30pm

Tea and Talk Book Club meets on the last Friday of the month starting at 1:30pm via Zoom.

November’s book is: Butter Honey Pig Bread by Francesca Ekwuyasi

Email them to get a copy of the book and sign up for the Zoom call. Click here for more details on our current book clubs.

Event Date(s): 
Thursday, November 4, 2021
Time: 
7:00pm - 8:00pm

Join the Fernie Heritage Library and the BC and Yukon Book Prizes on Thursday, November 4th at 7pm MST on Zoom for an author presentation with Liz Levine.

Liz Levine’s memoir Nobody Ever Talks About Anything But the End is a finalist for the 2021 Hubert Evans Nonfiction Prize.

For more information on this event, visit the Fernie Heritage Library website.

Event Date(s): 
Thursday, October 28, 2021
Time: 

Join Jon Turk for the Canadian launch of his new book, ‘Tracking Lions, Myth, and Wilderness in Samburu.’

**PLEASE NOTE**
Proof of vaccination and photo ID is required to attend this event. Please do not register for tickets if you cannot provide proof of two doses with your BC Vaccine Card. We will be checking BC Vaccine Card and photo ID at the front door. You must purchase one ticket at a time as we need a list of all names attending the event.

October isn’t the only month dedicated to fright anymore, the past 19+ months have been a tornado of unpredicted scares. I could rattle on (or rant on…) for paragraphs, but we’ve all lived through a different experience. The one thing uniting us in this ever-changing world, is our fatigue. The constant change of rules from a global scale to the rules of entering a grocery store. We’re tired. We’re frightened. We have no idea what the future holds. But we’re together through it all. 

Event Date(s): 
Repeats every week every Tuesday and every Friday until Tue Nov 30 2021.
Tuesday, November 2, 2021
Friday, November 5, 2021
Tuesday, November 9, 2021
Friday, November 12, 2021
Tuesday, November 16, 2021
Friday, November 19, 2021
Tuesday, November 23, 2021
Friday, November 26, 2021
Tuesday, November 30, 2021
Time: 
11:15am - 12:15pm

Preschool programming that you can join from your own home!

Event Date(s): 
Saturday, October 2, 2021
Time: 
2:00pm

October is for giving thanks..

Meet in the library garden to discuss things we are thankful for and create a Thankgsgiving centerpiece.

Register on Eventbrite. Maximum 8 people. Supplies provided.

Visit the Facebook event page for more details.