The Arts Station

Event Date: 
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm

The Banner Project highlights the diversity of the artistic community of the Elk Valley and brings Fernie’s downtown to life, celebrating the imagery and identity of the city. Come and see the newest banners to be displayed in Fernie featuring local artwork in a variety of mediums.

The Fernie banners are hung around town and on the highway, displaying beautiful artwork for all to enjoy. 40 pieces of work have been selected from this year’s submissions and will be featured on the newest banners to be hung in Historic Downtown Fernie this spring.​

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Thu Jul 04 2019.
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Thursday, July 4, 2019
Time: 
9:00am - 4:00pm

Get ready for another round of fun with Rachel and Sadie as they delve into drama, singing, movement and writing. Have so much fun as you create a unique performance that will leave you feeling like a star!

Register online today.

*Please note that we are unable to offer a sibling discount at this time.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Aug 28 2019.
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Time: 
5:30pm - 9:00pm

The Wednesday Socials are about a lot more than just music. They have a drinks tent serving Fernie Brewing Co., Lonetree cider and wine + a kids corner with free crafts, food trucks and more! A great place to meet your friends, soak up some afternoon sun and listen to awesome live music.

SCHEDULED LINEUP

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Fri Jul 12 2019.
Monday, July 8, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Time: 
11:00am - 3:00pm

This summer, the Arts Station is offering a brand new Teen Play Build Theatre Camp, led by Denise Baughan of Tunnel Theatre. Over the course of a week, participants will work collaboratively towards a final performance.

This week will provide a platform for participants to create stories and characters that will bring to life topics and themes that are important to them.

Ages 12-18. Cost: $160 - Register online today.

Event Date: 
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Time: 
5:00pm

Come observe Donna Bilyk in the gallery and see her artistic process as she works to create pieces in the style of her current gallery show, “Fernie Through My Artistic Filter”.

Drop in.

Event Date: 
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm

David Pantuso grew up in the mountains. Since age 11, through college, marriage, raising children, and a career in IT, a camera was always close at hand to capture the moments. Having now retired from his career, he is using his skills to pursue his love of photography and art in photomanipulation. Retiring to Fernie with his wife brings them back to the love of the mountain. David’s photographs take on an unrealistic look, but at the same time allow the viewer to recognize the image and enjoy the colours, lines, and shapes of the images.

Event Date: 
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Time: 
4:00pm - 6:00pm

Swing by the Arts Station on May 21st from 4-6pm for an afternoon of Watercolour! Dabble in the medium and improve your skills, or start from step 1 if you've never tried it before!

Ages: 18+. $20 - Register online today.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day 1 times. Also includes Mon May 13 2019, Wed May 22 2019, Wed May 29 2019.
Monday, May 6, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Time: 
6:30pm - 8:30pm

Have you been wanting to try your hand at the potter's wheel? Are looking to hone your skills? With a max of 5 students, this two day class provides you with ample opportunity to practice your throwing skills. Ideal for beginners or those with some experience, we will go through the basics of throwing basic vessels and trimming pottery while trouble shooting any individual challenges that may arise. Clay purchase is required for non-guild members while members may use their own.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Sep 15 2019.
Friday, September 13, 2019
Saturday, September 14, 2019
Sunday, September 15, 2019

Dynamic Design - Unlock the Methods for Creating Great Paintings

Understanding the elements of design provides the freedom to paint your vision and to develop your personal style. We cover ideas such as using informal division of space, letters, the golden mean, perspective, geometric shapes and more. Learn to know when an image is worth painting - or not! It's empowering and fun to see our paintings get better using dynamic designs.

Friday 7-8:30pm: Design discussion. Look at why certain paintings work and how they were composed.