The Arts Station

This evening, January 25, 2018 Vanessa Croome, Art Director and Co-Publisher of the Fernie Fix, unveils her second art exhibit at the Fernie Arts Station, 7pm. Fragmented is a collection of paintings exploring themes of love, loss, life and death, and the evolution of relationships.

Event Date: 
Thursday, January 25, 2018
Time: 
7:00pm

Vanessa Croome’s second show titled “Fragmented” endeavours to illustrate personal themes that have surfaced in Croome’s life in the last few years. Love, death, and family, and how they relate to one another. How fragmented and divided life is and how we actually begin to see this as we age and experience mortality around us. Croome also continues with her exploration of abstract landscape, and the landscapes that inspire her to be outdoors and to be creative.

Event Date: 
Sunday, February 4, 2018
Time: 
5:00pm

Somewhere between Toronto and northern Ontario, between childhood and adolescence, 13-year-old Bea (Charlotte Salisbury) is facing down growing-up, and isn’t sure she likes what she sees, especially with her parents on the edge of divorce. Then she meets Kate (Lucinda Armstrong Hall), she is funny, outspoken and tough. Though Bea and Kate are seemingly opposites, they strangely fit together. Under Kate’s influence, Bea finds her courage. But being brave has a price, especially when it means making a difficult choice between “never squealing” or speaking out. 

Event Date: 
Thursday, January 4, 2018
Time: 
7:00pm

Always been interested in human nature and the impact that societal burdens and expectations have on our humanity. Growing up in India, where things are different from here in the west but not everything is different, there are always expectations that can turn into burdens and that’s my focus. Some of the paintings here focus on our voyeuristic urge, to watch, to judge without thinking for ourselves and a few others are more positive like being part of a supportive structure, being right in the middle of that drastic change we want to see.

 

Event Date: 
Repeats every week 1 times. Also includes Fri Feb 23 2018.
Friday, February 9, 2018
Friday, February 23, 2018
Time: 

Each No School Friday, Rachel Butterworth and Heather Senior will be offering funky arts based projects, with chilled out vibes! A new project each week, each with valuable creative learning outcomes.

Event Date: 
Sunday, March 4, 2018
Time: 
5:00pm

Austrian actress Hedy Lamarr fled an oppressive marriage to create a name for herself as one of Hollywood’s top leading ladies in the 1940s. Behind the glamour and sex appeal, though, was a talented and inquisitive inventor who created a radio system that is now considered the basis of Bluetooth technology.

$9 for Arts Station members, $10 for non-members. Buy your tickets here.

Event Date: 
Thursday, February 22, 2018
Time: 
7:00pm

Wanderlust is a series of photographs, a collection of visual stories, from three adventures across oceans in less than a year. The exhibit features the remotely wild lands of Iceland, the warm beaches and forests of Australia, and the vibrant, pink-flowered, whitewashed alleys of Greece.

Event Date: 
Wednesday, February 7, 2018
Time: 
8:00pm

Take a pinch of lyrical sweetness and optimism, add a smattering of road weary darkness and serve it up live like it's your last night on Earth and you’ll have an inkling of the Canadian contemporary roots outfit known simply as WiL.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week 1 times. Also includes Wed Jan 24 2018, Wed Feb 07 2018, Wed Feb 21 2018, Wed Mar 07 2018, Wed Mar 28 2018, Wed Apr 04 2018, Wed Apr 18 2018.
Wednesday, January 10, 2018
Wednesday, January 24, 2018
Wednesday, February 7, 2018
Wednesday, February 21, 2018
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Wednesday, March 28, 2018
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Wednesday, April 18, 2018
Time: 
7:00pm - 10:00pm

Join Kerri Holmes for a fun evening in the pottery studio. Explore various techniques in a relaxed atmosphere. Unwind and get creative with clay! 7-10pm.

$40 includes clay, glazing and firing so you can collect your completed pieces of pottery a month later. Perfect for some handmade christmas presents. BYO wine! Book your ticket here.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day 3 times.
Friday, January 26, 2018
Saturday, January 27, 2018
Sunday, January 28, 2018

10 years ago, inspired by the popularity of the Indie Films Fernie monthly screenings, a dedicated group of volunteers decided to plan a festival dedicated to the talent, skill and diversity of the Canadian Film Industry.