The Arts Station

Event Date: 
Repeats every week 1 times. Also includes Mon Oct 29 2018, Mon Nov 19 2018, Mon Jan 07 2019, Wed Mar 13 2019.
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Monday, January 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Time: 
6:30pm - 8:30pm

This pottery workshop gives you a chance to build your own cup and bowl.

Do one to get a taster or sign up for all to try out different variations. These workshops are designed to instruct you in the skills of pottery. The cost of the workshops cover the time and expertise of instructors providing the participant with an experience. Pieces made during the workshop cannot be guaranteed and pottery may not survive the firing process. The complete process also takes time to finish and pottery will not be available for at least 6 weeks after the workshop.

Event Date: 
Friday, October 26, 2018
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Join Sue Hanlon for a social evening of painting. Sue will guide you through a painting step by step for 2 hours. Beginners are most welcome! She will be supplying all of the materials and instruction. They’re putting the fun back into painting as you concentrate on the process on the way to a finished product!

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Oct 17 2018.
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Time: 
7:00pm - 8:00pm

Latin dance classes with experienced teacher and dancer, Adriana Pumphrey.

One hour of high energy, beginners class in Rumba – great exercise and even better fun. No partner necessary! Workshops run on Wednesdays 7-8pm in the Arts Station theatre. If you have any questions about the class itself, please contact the Arts Station via the usual channels with your queries.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week 1 times. Also includes Thu Oct 18 2018, Wed Oct 24 2018.
Saturday, October 6, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Time: 
6:30pm - 8:00pm

You can make a lantern to use during the Festival of Lights parade and/or help make one for the illuminated Memory Lane installation created by Elk Valley Hospice volunteers, Fernie artists and community participants.  If you bring a picture of a loved one, family member, friend or pet we will print it onto your lantern. Memory Lane will be displayed during the festival of lights on November 10th, showcasing the diversity of the people shaping Fernie’s present and past.

Event Date: 
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Time: 
6:00pm - 9:00pm

Join the Elk Valley Pride Festival at the Arts Station, after they raise the Pride Flag at City Hall, in a fun night of creating Pride Lanterns.

This is the first of the Arts Station's community-build nights - where everyone is welcome to flex their creative muscles to build cool lanterns to be part of the Festival of Lights coming in November. Supplies and guidance will be available.

Event Date: 
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Time: 
7:00pm

The “Art of Building” is a multi-generational exhibit where the Hornquist family uses different techniques and styles to explore the notion of building. Whether it is creating pieces that study the composition of existing structures or explore the process of building, each family member offers their own unique style. The exhibit will feature an array of work including more traditional pieces such as paintings using water colour, acrylic and ink, as well as experimental pieces that combine the modern technologies of laser engraving and traditional carpentry.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Sep 23 2018.
Friday, September 21, 2018
Saturday, September 22, 2018
Sunday, September 23, 2018
Time: 

Creative colour that sings your song!

Visualized painting is a fun and valuable process. Experience making art and rethink your ideas of how to approach painting, while using the elements and principles of painting in non-restricting ways, with experienced painter Mirja Vahala.

September 21-23: Friday evening 6-9pm, Saturday and Sunday, 9:30 to 4pm.

Event Date: 
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Time: 
6:00pm

Join us to celebrate our successes from 2017/18 and to learn about the future of the arts and culture community in the Elk Valley. This meeting is open to the public and we want to hear from you. Your feedback and suggestions are welcome.

If you’d like to renew your existing membership or become a member, please arrive at 5:30 pm and we’ll be able to assist you.

A draft agenda for the AGM will be published here in advance of the meeting, to be adopted by vote at the AGM.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day 1 times. Also includes Wed Oct 10 2018, Mon Nov 26 2018.
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Time: 
6:30pm - 8:00pm

Have you always wondered how the glazing process works? Or do you need a little refresher? This introductory class covers the basic techniques you'll need to dip glaze pottery on your own. No experience required. Highly recommended if you're interested in joining the Fernie Potter's Guild.

Event Date: 
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Time: 
8:00pm

Belle Regards are a Canadian folk group based on the songwriting and complementing voices of Matthew Kingsley, from Lennoxville, Quebec and Melanie Hilmi, from Belleville, Ontario.

The show starts after our Annual General Meeting at 8pm. The AGM will begin at 6pm, doors for the concert will be immediately afterwards (around 7.30pm).

Part of the Winter Concert series, produced by the Arts Station. Browse our Events Calendar or Eventbrite Profile to see who else is coming to Fernie for an intimate concert this Fall/Winter.