The Arts Station

Event Date: 
Saturday, October 5, 2019
Time: 
10:00am

Help make Child Care visible in Fernie during the Federal Election!

Parents, grandparents, caregivers and littles meet at the Arts Station at 10am and join the march through town, past City Hall ending at Rotary Park raising awareness about how badly affordable, accessible childcare is needed here and all over Canada.

Supported by the Coalition of Child Care Advocates of BC, the Early Childhood Educators of BC and the Waitlisted Project.

Event Date: 
Saturday, September 28, 2019
Time: 
8:00pm - 11:0pm

Del Barber is a singer-songwriter from Manitoba, whose winsome balladry and wry wit harken back to country-folk traditions that remind the listener of the late greats of songwriting history. Del is no stranger to finding inspiration in the cultural backdrop of Canada. On the JUNO Award-nominated Prairieography, Barber documented stories of prairie life, highlighting the unique relationship between struggle, hard work and love.

Event Date: 
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:00pm

In the theatre, Shadow Play, a Roni Jurgensen installation will take flight. In the gallery, Roni and Beth Gallup play with paintings: food and feathers. Music by The Relief Committee, including the classic, Cheeseburger in Paradise. And, of course, Blackbird.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day 1 times. Also includes Wed Sep 18 2019, Mon Sep 23 2019, Wed Sep 25 2019.
Monday, September 16, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Time: 
6:00pm - 9:00pm

Have you been wanting to try your hand at the potter’s wheel? Are looking to hone your skills? With a max of 5 students, this two day class provides you with ample opportunity to practice your throwing skills. Ideal for beginners or those with some experience, we will go through the basics of throwing basic vessels and trimming pottery while trouble shooting any individual challenges that may arise. Clay purchase is required for non-guild members while members may use their own.

Event Date: 
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Time: 
8:00pm

Join members of the Ktunaxa Nation, the City of Fernie and the festival organizing committee in kicking off Fernie's premier cultural festival with culinary artistry by Fernie's celebrity chef, Barrie Elliott, and live entertainment by Red Girl and Hark Raving Sirens. Exhibiting artist Peggy Black will be in attendance.
All welcome. Cash Bar.

Event Date: 
Repeats every day until Sun Sep 15 2019.
Saturday, September 14, 2019
Sunday, September 15, 2019
Time: 
10:00am - 12:00pm

Explore handbuilding and ceramic design techniques to make a whimsical pot. For newbies or experienced creatives, this two day workshop will guide you through making then decorating your cactus pot. All materials are provided.

Cost: $55 - Register online.

Event Date: 
Friday, September 6, 2019
Time: 
6:30pm

Celebrating Opera with the Fernie Friends of Opera.

All screenings are on the first Friday of the month at the Arts Station, except March (first Monday).

Admission by donation.

2019 - 2020 Season Screenings:

Friday, September 6: Rigoletto by Guiseppe Verdi

Event Date: 
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Time: 
6:30pm - 8:30pm

This pottery workshop gives you a chance to build your own cup and bowl. Do one to get a taster or sign up for all to try out different variations.

Price: $45 each class includes clay and firing. Register online. For more info call 250-423-4842 or email jackie@theartsstation.com.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu Oct 24 2019.
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Join Adriana for a night of Latin Dance! Move your feet to some fun Latin rhythms!

$15. Register online. The first 3 Thursdays in October.

Event Date: 
Monday, August 26, 2019
Time: 
9:00am - 4:00pm

Join Rachel and Heather for a day of funky arts based projects, with chilled out vibes! A new project each week, each with valuable creative learning outcomes.