arts

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday and every Saturday until Sun Sep 01 2019.
Saturday, June 22, 2019
Sunday, June 23, 2019
Saturday, June 29, 2019
Sunday, June 30, 2019
Saturday, July 6, 2019
Sunday, July 7, 2019
Saturday, July 13, 2019
Sunday, July 14, 2019
Saturday, July 20, 2019
Sunday, July 21, 2019
Saturday, July 27, 2019
Sunday, July 28, 2019
Saturday, August 3, 2019
Sunday, August 4, 2019
Saturday, August 10, 2019
Sunday, August 11, 2019
Saturday, August 17, 2019
Sunday, August 18, 2019
Saturday, August 24, 2019
Sunday, August 25, 2019
Saturday, August 31, 2019
Sunday, September 1, 2019
Time: 
1:00pm - 2:30pm

On the surface, Fernie might seem like any mountain town: beautiful vistas, interesting shops, and abundant outdoor activities. Dig a little deeper and discover the stories of tragedy and triumph.

Fernie entered the First World War in 1914 with optimism and a sense of national pride. Five years later, it emerged having experienced staggering losses and multiple controversies that threatened to tear the community apart. Fernie was profoundly affected by conflicting impulses of labour, loyalty, and ethnicity.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday and every Saturday until Sun Sep 01 2019.
Saturday, June 22, 2019
Sunday, June 23, 2019
Saturday, June 29, 2019
Sunday, June 30, 2019
Saturday, July 6, 2019
Sunday, July 7, 2019
Saturday, July 13, 2019
Sunday, July 14, 2019
Saturday, July 20, 2019
Sunday, July 21, 2019
Saturday, July 27, 2019
Sunday, July 28, 2019
Saturday, August 3, 2019
Sunday, August 4, 2019
Saturday, August 10, 2019
Sunday, August 11, 2019
Saturday, August 17, 2019
Sunday, August 18, 2019
Saturday, August 24, 2019
Sunday, August 25, 2019
Saturday, August 31, 2019
Sunday, September 1, 2019
Time: 
3:00pm - 4:30pm

On the surface, Fernie might seem like any mountain town: beautiful vistas, interesting shops, and abundant outdoor activities. But if you dig a little deeper, you will discover a rich and dramatic history.
Discover the story of the three larger-than-life king-pin Rum Runners – Emilio Picariello, Jack Wilson and Mark Rogers – who ruled the illicit liquor trade from Lethbridge to Fernie down as far as Spokane, Washington.

Tour departs at 3pm from the Fernie Museum.

Event Date: 
Saturday, June 29, 2019
Time: 
12:00pm - 1:00pm

The Elkford Arts Council is proud to share with you our latest project... a new Public Artwork for Elkford!

Join and celebrate the Unveiling of Pass in the Clouds on Saturday June 29th right after the Wildcat Days Parade. T-shirts are $25 (make your cheques out to Elkford Arts Council).

Read our blog to find out more about this project: how it was commissioned, how it was made and by who! http://www.elkfordarts.ca/the-art-blog

 

The Fernie and District Arts Council has been awarded a Public Art Grant by the Columbia Basin Trust to add to the public art inventory of Fernie. The project will be to select and install a permanent mural in Fernie.

Legend has it that after producing the breakthrough hit album The Joshua Tree for Irish rockers U2, Daniel Lanoise purchased a mansion in LA and instead of filling it with furniture and art, he left it sparsely decorated—almost ascetic.

Westerners often misunderstand the concept of Geisha and think of them as something immoral or tawdry. In Japan, however, the occupation of geisha has a long and honourable history. Geisha were high class, well-educated hostess-courtesans, who entertained wealthy, sophisticated and powerful Japanese gentlemen who desired elegance, culture, and brilliant conversation in an exotic yet refined atmosphere. 

Event Date: 
Friday, June 14, 2019
Time: 
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Join Sue Hanlon for a social evening of painting. Sue will guide you through a painting step by step for 2 hours. Beginners are most welcome! She will be supplying all of the materials and instruction. We’re putting the fun back into painting as we concentrate on the process on the way to a finished product!

Age: 12+/Adult. $45 per person - register online.

Event Date: 
Sunday, July 21, 2019
Time: 
1:00pm - 3:00pm

Shibori is an ancient Japanese art form best described as “resist” dyeing. The Japanese developed the techniques for silk fabrics that were often used in kimonos.

Originally, natural dyes, including indigo, were used to colour the fabric. Stitching, folding and clamping were some of the techniques used to create patterns. In Japan, these techniques have been practiced and improved upon for over 1300 years.

Event Date: 
Repeats every week 1 times. Also includes Sat Sep 21 2019, Sat Oct 05 2019, Sat Oct 19 2019.
Saturday, September 7, 2019
Saturday, September 21, 2019
Saturday, October 5, 2019
Saturday, October 19, 2019
Time: 
1:00pm - 3:00pm

6 week course — every second Saturday, 1-3 p.m.
Choose either FALL SEMESTER or WINTER SEMESTER:
FALL: Sept 7, 21; Oct 5, 19; Nov 2, 16
WINTER: Jan 11, 25; Feb 8, 22; March 14, 28
Maximum 8 participants per semester

Event Date: 
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Time: 

This collection has evolved from a previous show of abstracts that were predominantly black on white. This time, colour dominates the abstract theme and is the inspiration for this exhibition.

Creativity plus experimentation work to inspire each piece. Many are peppered with a good bit of luck! Knowing when to toss or continue, to add more or not is key. Layering simple design to dramatic effect, with an eye for colour and balance all work together to create each compelling image.