Quesnel Councillor Laurey-Anne Roodenburg acclaimed new UBCM president 

Vancouver, B.C. (September 17, 2021): The Union of British Columbia Municipalities (UBCM) membership has selected its  Table Officers for the 2021-2022 Executive Board at the close of its annual convention. 

Councillor Laurey-Anne Roodenburg of the City of Quesnel has been acclaimed UBCM president and was officially installed  this afternoon after serving the past year as first vice-president.  

Councillor Jen Ford of the Resort Municipality of Whistler has been acclaimed first vice president, after serving as second  vice-president for the past year. 

Mayor Ange Qualizza of the City of Fernie has been elected second vice president after serving as third vice president for  the past year. 

Councillor Claire Moglove of the City of Campbell River has been acclaimed third vice president 

“Our new UBCM executive is ready to move forward on the numerous concerns discussed at this year’s convention, ranging  from local government financial challenges, to dealing with the potential impacts of another devastating heatwave in the  future,” said president Roodenburg. “The discussions at our virtual convention gave us the direction we need to address the  many local governance and other issues facing BC’s municipalities today.” 

Images of the new UBCM Executive Board may be downloaded from Flickr for media publication. Photo credit: UBCM.  Information from the now-concluded UBCM 2021 Convention is available in our online Media Room

Follow UBCM on Twitter: @UBCM  

Hashtag: #UBCM21 


Formed in 1905 to provide a common voice for local government, the UBCM continues to follow that mandate today.  Through its resolution sessions, the annual convention provides a platform for local government leaders to establish policy  directions for UBCM’s engagement with the provincial and federal governments. More information at ubcm.ca.