CBT Welcomes New Board Members

Photo: Columbia Basin Trust Board of Directors. Left to right: (top row) Murray McConnachie, David Raven (Vice-Chair), Jocelyn Carver (Chair), Owen Torgerson; (middle row) Bill van Yzerloo, Krista Turcasso, Codie Morigeau, Carol Andrews; (bottom row) Don McCormick, Corky Evans, Aimee Watson, Ron Oszust.

On February 1, 2021 the Columbia Basin Trust announced two new members to its Board of Directors. Codie Morigeau, a nominee of the Ktunaxa Nation Council, and Aimee Watson, a nominee of the Regional District of Central Kootenay, have joined the Board effective January 1, 2021. Larry Binks and Vickie Thomas leave the Board after completing their six-year terms.

“I would like to welcome Codie and Aimee to the Trust’s Board of Directors and look forward to working together to support the work of the Trust moving forward,” said Katrine Conroy, Minister of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development, and Minister Responsible for Columbia Basin Trust. “I also thank exiting Board members Larry Binks and Vickie Thomas for their years of dedicated service and wish them the best.”

Jocelyn Carver of Nelson remains as the Board Chair – her second term in that position, and David Raven remains in his position as Vice-Chair for a second term as well.

“We look forward to the perspectives and leadership that Codie and Aimee will bring to the Trust’s Board of Directors. Their expertise and relationships in the Basin will be a valuable complement to our team,” said Trust Board Chair Jocelyn Carver. “We also bid a fond farewell to Larry and Vickie who brought so much passion and unique experience to the work of this Board – thank you.”

Codie Morigeau was raised in the Ktunaxa Nation community of ʔaq̓am and lives in Cranbrook. She has worked with the Ktunaxa Nation since 2001 and is currently the Director of Education and Employment on a temporary assignment as the Director of Traditional Knowledge, Language, and Culture. Codie is also the President of the Ktunaxa Kinbasket Child and Family Services Board and has served on the ʔaq̓am Chief and Council and the Ktunaxa Nation Executive Council. 

Aimee Watson has called Kaslo home since 2004. She led Kaslo’s “Lawns to Gardens” initiative, developed a food forum for North Kootenay Lake Community Services Society, and helped establish the Kaslo Food Security project, eventually opening the doors in 2009 to the first accredited Food Hub in Canada. In 2014 Aimee was elected the Electoral Area Director for Area D in the Regional District of Central Kootenay and is currently the Chair of its Board of Directors.

The Trust is governed by a 12-member Board of Directors. The five Regional Districts in the Basin and the Ktunaxa Nation Council each nominate a Director, and the Province of BC appoints the remaining six directors. All Directors must reside in the Basin.

For biographies and more information on the Board of Directors, visit ourtrust.org/board.

Columbia Basin Trust supports the ideas and efforts of the people in the Columbia Basin. To learn more about the Trust’s programs and initiatives, and how it helps deliver social, economic and environmental benefits to the Basin, visit ourtrust.org or call 1.800.505.8998.

Columbia Basin Trust operates in the unceded traditional territories of the Ktunaxa, Lheidli T’enneh, Secwepemc, Sinixt and Syilx Nations.