Monster Enemy Lines event at Fernie Alpine Resort amended for safety reasons

We've all been watching the weather over the last week, while excited for the first Monster Enemy Lines event scheduled this weekend at Fernie Alpine Resort we have been worried about whether it would indeed move forward.

The good news is the event is taking place, but following an unprecedented province-wide warm weather event, the Enemy Lines course and format has changed.

After a daylong course inspection with competitors and members of the Fernie Ski Patrol April 4, 2013, it was determined that the 45+ degree Lizard headwall was not a viable option for the competition due to extremely unstable snowpack.
Screen shot 2013-04-05 at 10.16.27 AM.png

“We are stoked to start the tradition of this one-of-a-kind event. With over 33 feet of snow it has been an incredible winter, but the rapid weather change forced the decision to move the start lower onto one of our five bowls,” said Fernie’s Matt Mosteller

As a result, the course will start from the Lizard traverse in a safe zone below the headwall. The prize purse has been revised accordingly and to ensure athletes are rewarded for their efforts to make it out to Fernie.$5000 will go to the winner and the remaining $15,000 will be split between the field of 20 skiers.
Screen shot 2013-04-05 at 10.16.46 AM.png

Monster Energy’s Nelson Philips looks forward to the future of Enemy Lines; “We’re very excited to have a partner, Fernie, that shows the willingness to bring our plans to life. Enemy Lines has a home and we’ll start to work towards next year on Monday.”

Enemy Lines was designed as a winner-take-all, mass start race that combines steep alpine terrain with the leg burning endurance over 3500 vertical feet. The prize purse of $20,000 has drawn an eclectic field of world-class skiers.

Local skiers taking part in this year's event include Emmet Graham, Ross Janzen, Jamie McDermid, Luke Nelson, Ryan Oakden, Benjamin Rex Ogilvie, Aaron Schmidt, and Graeme Tabor.

Full roster as follows:

1.Carlo Travarelli
2.Ryan Oakden
3. Matty Richard
4. Graeme Tabor
6. Ben Wheeler
7. Luke Nelson
8. Rory Bushfield
9. Dylan Crossman
10. Ross Janzen
11. Stan Rey
12. Matt Francisty
13. Matt Elliott
14. Emmet Graham
15. Aaron Schmidt
16. Benjamin Rex Ogilvie
17. Phil Hudec
18. Christopher J Wright
19. Josh Bibby
20. Kye Petersen
21. Peter Olenick
22. Dan Treadway
23. Tj Schiller
24. Justin Dorey
25. Ian Cosco