2nd Biennial Ski Wall of Fame Ceremony, Fernie BC


The Fernie Ski Hall of Fame was established in 2012 as a lasting record of the individuals and organizations whose passion and dedication have put Fernie prominently on the international ski map.

The inaugural induction ceremony on Friday, March 23, 2012 was part of Fernie Ski Heritage Week, a week-long series of events to celebrate the 50th anniversary of lift-access skiing in Fernie. Click here for information on the week’s events.

New members were added to the Hall of Fame this March, at an evening gala at Corner Porcket at Fernie Alpine Resort. Mike Delich hosted the event, which was a successful evening full or worthy recipients honoured for their impact in the ski industry, and 140 guests ready to celebrate Fernie and its ski industry.

The event raised funds for the Emily Brydon Youth Foundation and the Fernie Alpine Ski Team, which will help the youth continue their endeavors in the sport, many of whom may be members in years to come!

This year's recipients were as follows:

Nancy-Jo O'Neil: A native of Smithers BC, Nancy-Jo briefly coached in Rossland before joining the Fernie team in 1983. From Fernie, she made a difference in the sport for the next 25 years and helped racers in Vernon and Provincial Teams in British Columbia, Alberta and Ontario be their best and reach their goals, many skiing on Canada’s National Team, in the NCAA, programs in the USA and Canadian Champions. Most importantly however, is that many of these young adults still call Nancy their friend and stay in touch with her.

Fernie Trails & Ski Touring Club: The Elk Valley Ski Touring Society was the Pioneer of the back country ski experience in the southern Rockies. Many of the key builders were Ian Stokie, Pat Gilmar, Bob Morris, Jack Mackay, Bob Mitchell, Rick Schroeder, Robin Siggers, Rod Pendlebury, Glen Heppner, Blair Craig, Tom Amundsen, Sean Staplin and others.

Summit Lift - Randy Gliege and Family: Randy Gliege started his career in the ski industry at Fortress Mountain then to Fernie Snow Valley in the 1980’s as a snow cat operator and moved to be Operations Manager. His first ski lift installation was the Boomerang Chairlift followed by Randy establishing his own business erecting and installing ski lifts in Blackcomb, the Olympic ski venues in Utah, the new high speed lifts at Sun Valley Resort in Idaho to Michigan to Alaska.

Dr. Geoff Seagram: At age 77, Geoff is an active ski coach (one of the oldest in in Canada) and is involved in the Fernie youth ski racing programs. He has been a personal mentor for many athletes, encouraging and inspiring the young athletes and students to pursue professions in medicine, physiotherapy or other endeavours after their ski racing careers.

Dave Aikens: Dave Aikens joined Fernie Snow Valley Ski Ltd. in 1979 and proceeded with a methodical and scientific approach to snow safety along the Lizard Range. He is still active and working in the mountains. For his efforts and endless contributions to safety in mountains, the Canadian Avalanche Association in 2011 recognized Dave for his contributions to developing professional standards for snow safety and program development in the Southern Rockies. In 2013, Dave was the recipient of the Fernie Mountain Culture Award at the Fernie Mountain Film Festival for his pioneering work in avalanche protocols and systems over the last 35 years

Mike Delich, organizer, with recipient Dave Aikens.

Rosemary Brydon accepts the donation on behalf of the Emily Brydon Youth Foundation.

Annika Columbine introducing Cathy Morris, whom accepted a donation on behalf of the Fernie Alpine Ski Team.

The 2nd biennial Ski Wall of Fame Ceremony took place March 29, 2014 at the Cornerpocket with over 140 people there to celebrate this year's inductees.

The event raised funds for the Emily Brydon Youth Foundation and the Fernie Alpine Ski Team, which will help the youth continue their endeavors in the sport, many of whom may be members in years to come!